LEPROUS: Video For New Song 'Stuck'

LEPROUS: Video For New Song 'Stuck'

Norwegian progressive metallers LEPROUS will release their fifth studio album, "Malina", on August 25 via InsideOut Music. The official video for the disc's second single, "Stuck", can be seen below. The clip was directed by Troll Toftenes.

The band checked in with the following comment about "Stuck": "'Stuck' is LEPROUS in a new package! It's straight to the point, groovy and has probably the guitar and bass sound on the album that we're most happy with! Doing a performance video to enhance the special edit version of this song felt like an obvious choice and the footage captured by Troll Toftenes supports the dynamics of the music in a great way!"

Following a hugely successful European tour as support to labelmates DEVIN TOWNSEND PROJECT, LEPROUS started recording the follow-up to 2015's "The Congregation". Frontman and keyboard player Einar Solberg comments: "This album is the perfect example of how you can start with a vision and end up with a result that has nothing to do with the original idea.

"The writing of the album started out with the idea to perfect the sound and working method we began with on 'The Congregation'.

"While the writing process was actually pretty similar (30 sketches, elimination process etc etc) we gradually started noticing stuff with the sound and the songwriting on the previous album that we wanted to sound different. Gradually we realized what needed to be done. This album needs to sound more alive, more organic and more dynamic."

The band entered the studio with David Castillo at Ghostward in Sweden, while mixing duties were once again taken care of by Jens Bogren.

"David immediately understood where we wanted to go," Solberg says. "We spent probably four times as many days in the studio as with any other recording we've done, for we've come to learn that if you want to sound unique that is primarily done during recordings, not the mix. We wanted it to sound like it sounded. We did not want to 'digitalize' the sound."

With "Malina", LEPROUS has made every effort to try new ways of working, and push the boundaries of their sound in ways they had not originally set out to do.

"We feel with 'Malina' that we've managed to achieve a natural-sounding organic album with great songs that still sounds modern," says Solberg. "Organic doesn't necessarily equal 'retro'. While we still very much sound like LEPROUS, I believe that with this album we more accurately define as a rock band than a metal band.

"We're insanely proud of this album, and can't wait to share it with you all."

This feeling is reflected in the stunning cover artwork too, which you can see below. Einar continues: "We wanted to try something new this time, and work with a new artist. Some good musician friends of ours recommended Corey Meyers. I checked him out, and damn he's good. This is the first time we've ever received the perfect cover on the first attempt. It represents the album perfectly and looks pretty amazing!"

"Malina" track listing:

01. Bonneville
02. Stuck
03. From The Flame
04. Captive
05. Illuminate
06. Leashes
07. Mirage
08. Malina
09. Coma
10. The Weight Of Disaster
11. The Last Milestone

"Malina" will be available as jewelcase CD and digital download, but also as limited-edition mediabook CD (with extended booklet and the bonus track "Root") and as a gatefold 2LP on 180-gram vinyl (with a poster, the bonus track "Root" and the entire album on CD).


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).