LED ZEPPELIN: New 1970 Audience Tape Unearthed

Led-Zeppelin.com reports: "Easily one of the most exciting new tapes unearthed ever features [LED ZEPPELIN's] last concert of 1970 — the 2 1/2 hour evening performance at Madison Square Garden (9/19/70). Not only is it likely the best show of the tour, it contains an unusual setlist with some surprises including a thunderous rendition of LITTLE RICHARD's 'The Girl Can't Help It' & EDDIE COCHRAN's '20 Flight Rock' — the heaviest rock 'n' roll cover versions they've ever performed. Other highlights include: 'Out On the Tiles', a rare snippet of 'Gallows Pole' and 'Blueberry Hill'. The 'Whole Lotta Love' medley blasts through one classic after another including: 'Dust My Broom', 'Bottle Up 'n Go', 'Lawdy Miss Claudy', 'Cinnamon Girl', 'Some Other Guy', 'Train Kept a Rollin'' and 'I'm a King Bee'. A tremendous sense of excitement and spontaneity carries through the entire concert.

"Ironically, the taper thought he had the same show as the matinee performance, which has been circulating for some time, and offered it as a possible upgrade copy - now trading vigorously on the Internet. The matinee show was a decent concert, but it always felt as they were holding back. There was certainly no holding back now and push their limit to the max to go all out on this one.

"The entire band is in top form, bringing the packed crowd at Madison Square Garden to the stratosphere. 'We didn't expect you'd shout that loud,' says Plant, 'thanks very much.' Unfortunately ZEP would not perform live again until March 1971 as they would head back to the UK to record the 4th album. Over thirty years later, fans can finally enjoy the best concert of the 1970 American tour and one of their best shows ever!"

Full setlist:

01. Intro
02. Immigrant Song
03. Heartbreaker
04. Dazed & Confused
05. Bring It On Home
06. Jimi Hendrix Tribute (Plant)
07. That's The Way
08. Bron-y-Aur
09. Since I've Been Loving You
10. JPJ Organ Solo
11. Thank You
12. What Is And What Should Never Be
13. Moby Dick
14. Whole Lotta Love (medley incl: "Dust My Broom", "Bottle Up 'n Go", "Lawdy Miss Claudy", "Cinnamon Girl", "Some Other Guy", "Train Kept a Rolling", "I'm a King Bee", "Baby Don't You Want Me To Go", "CC Rider")
15. Out On The Tiles
16. Communication Breakdown (medley incl: "Gallows Pole", "The Girl Can't Help It" / "20 Flight Rock")
17. How Many More Times (medley incl: "Cadillac", "Blueberry Hill")


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).