LAIR OF THE MINOTAUR: New Video To Premiere Next Week

One week from today — on Thursday, April 1 — the new LAIR OF THE MINOTAUR video will be unleashed via a special premiere on Decibel magazine's "Deciblog". The clip is for "Evil Power", the title track to the band's menacing upcoming fourth full-length release.

Directed by Ryan Oliver of cult horror cinema company Deathblow Productions, the "Evil Power" video features more blood, gore, violence and nudity in under three-and-a-half minutes than some full-length slasher films, and shall prove to be one of the most cruel videos in the history of heavy metal. Watch innocent virgins being offered up to the massive minotaur for sacrifice. Reel in horror during the evisceration and dismemberment of these beauties while your head bangs uncontrollably to LAIR OF THE MINOTAUR's thunderous soundtrack.

"Evil Power" will be released on April 13, 2010 on The Grind-House Records, an independent record label started by Steve Rathbone, Chris Wozniak (both from LOTM) and Josh Diebel (former head of Alleysweeper Records). The record will be distributed by Southern Lord Records, who have released the band's previous three albums on CD and vinyl, two EPs and DVD.

"Evil Power" lays all in its path to waste with an approach as heavy as the Kraken, while showing off the band's heavy rock and punk influences. A deluxe LP version will be released in late summer 2010, featuring a bonus track not available on CD or digital download.

"Evil Power" track listing:

01. Attack the Gods
02. Let's Kill These Motherfuckers
03. Riders of Skullhammer, We Ride the Night
04. Evil Power
05. Goatstorm
06. Hunt and Devour
07. Metal Titans
08. Blood From the Witch's Vein
09. We Are Hades
10. Death March of the Conquerors
11. The Violent Iron Age of Man

Check out the track "We Are Hades" at the band's MySpace page.

"Evil Power" was recorded in the dead of winter in Chicago at Semaphore Studios by Sanford Parker, and mastered by Scott Hull. Rathbone states, "If 'War Metal Battle Master' was the war, 'Evil Power' is the party after a bloody victory."

The album features new bassist, Nate Olp (vocalist/bassist of DEMIRICOUS) and guest backing vocals by General Diabolical Slaughter (USURPER), bringing mucho mayhem to the fold.

Coinciding with the release, the band is headlining a U.S. tour through the Midwest and East Coast in April.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).