KISS: 'Rock The Nation Live!' DVD Details Revealed

KISS Kollector Online has isued the following update on KISS' upcoming "Rock the Nation Live!" DVD:

"There's been a lot of talk about the forthcoming KISS DVD 'Rock the Nation Live!' amongst fans over the last few months. Whereas a release date still hasn't been announced, according to Sanctuary Records' website the initial idea of releasing a 2-DVD set recently changed into a 4-DVD set. Unfortunately, details about the extra two discs are unknown as of yet (but a little while ago word went around that these two additional discs are to feature a 1972 concert as well as a supposed Winterland '73 show — however, KISS wasn't named KISS yet back in '72 although Ace Frehley joined the band in December of that year — and as far as we know WICKED LESTER performed their last live concert in '71 so it's quite impossible to include a live show from '72, and KISS didn't play live in Winterland in '73…) but in the fourth issue of official KISS magazine — which came out recently and mentioned a summer release for the DVD — the track listing for the 2 DVDs containing the actual Rock the Nation Tour footage was revealed. As well as several other details about the discs' contents.

"And if all that hasn't changed by now, then things look very promising for the upcoming DVD. It might turn out to be the coolest KISS DVD released up till now. Not only will it contain no less than 20 live tracks, but also incredible behind-the-scenes footage. Intermingled with the songs will be exciting backstage footage — including stuff shot in the dressing room, at soundcheck, on the road, etc. Tommy Thayer (who previously was responsible for the KISS DVDs 'The Second Coming' and 'Symphony' as well as Ted Nugent's 'Full Bluntal Nugity') was in charge of the DVD project and likes to refer to all the behind-the-scenes footage — which was filmed by Spiro Papadatos — as little 'documentaries.' Kevin McCullough (who did the editing for the 'Symphony' DVD and worked with Gene Simmons on his 'Speaking In Tongues' DVD) edited the concert footage whereas Tommy edited the behind-the-scenes/documentary footage. The documentary sections have been divided into 7 different chapters, and include voice overs by the band members.

"First up is The Dressing Room, which chronicles what each band member does to get ready for the show (including Paul Stanley's vocal exercises), putting on make up and costumes, etc. Then there's Photo Shoot, taking you back to the March 2004 photo session at Neil Zlozower's studio which was a month or two before the Rock The Nation Tour kicked off. The third documentary is titled The Meet & Greets, which explains the reasoning behind doing the Platinum Packages (and which features the best 3 or 4 meet & greets). Next up is Soundchecks, including bits 'n' pieces of 'Mr. Speed', 'All The Way', 'The Oath', 'I Stole Your Love', 'Comin' Home' and 'Two Timer'. The fifth documentary is The Theatre Shows, featuring bits from the two theater shows during the 2004 Australian tour which brings back memories of the band's original theater/club days. On The Road is the title of the next documentary, showcasing pretty much the other 22 hours of the day on a typical concert day (flying on the private KISS jet, traveling to each city and venue) as well as off-days (on which you could find the band bowling). And ending the 'Rock the Nation' discs is Fan Testimonials/Credits, which speaks for itself.

"As a very cool bonus, the new DVD — for which post-production was done by San Francisco company MX Entertainment who also worked with acts such as RUSH and the ROLLING STONES on DVD projects — will have Power Vision/Select-A-KISS on 7 songs, which means you can select the camera focusing on one of each band member exclusively, each member appears in his own 'window' and you can navigate from one to another (which is something the STONES already did on three songs on their 'Four Flicks' DVD, obviously it's called Select-A-Stone then)."

The full track listing for the two 'Rock the Nation Live!' discs is as follows:

Disc 1:

01. Intro
02. Love Gun
03. Deuce
04. Makin’ Love
05. The Dressing Room (documentary)
06. Lick It Up
07. Christine Sixteen
08. Photo Shoot (documentary)
09. She
10. Tears Are Falling
11. Got To Choose
12. The Meet & Greets (documentary)
13. I Love It Loud
14. Love Her All I Can
15. I Want You
16. Soundchecks (documentary)
17. Parasite

Disc 2:

01. War Machine
02. 100,000 Years
03. The Theatre Shows (documentary)
04. Unholy
05. Shout It Out Loud
06. On The Road (documentary)
07. I Was Made For Lovin’ You
08. Detroit Rock City
09. God Gave Rock And Roll To You II
10. Rock And Roll All Nite
11. Fan Testimonials/Credits (documentary)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).