KILLING JOKE Announces North American Tour Dates

U.K. post-punk industrial icons KILLING JOKE will return to North America this winter for a long-anticipated run of live dates. The tour will commence on December 3 in New York City and run through nearly a dozen cities before coming to a close in Los Angeles on December 18. The trek will coincide with the release of the band's latest studio offering, "Absolute Dissent", due on November 16 via Spinefarm Records.

"Absolute Dissent" is KILLING JOKE's 13th full-length and finds the original lineup of Jaz Coleman (vocals), Geordie (guitar), Youth (bass) and Paul Ferguson (drums) sharing studio space for the first time in 27 years. The 12-track recording was engineered and mixed by Clive Goddard, and produced by the band.

To celebrate this monumental release, CraveOnline today is hosting an exclusive premiere of "Absolute Dissent". Check out the record in its entirety at this location.

KILLING JOKE North American tour dates:

Dec. 03 - Irving Plaza - New York City, NY
Dec. 04 - Paradise Lounge - Boston, MA
Dec. 06 - Cabaret Du Musee - Montreal, QC
Dec. 07 - Phoenix Concert Theatre - Toronto, ON
Dec. 09 - Crofoot Ballroom - Pontiac, MI
Dec. 10 - Empty Bottle - Chicago, IL
Dec. 11 - Empty Bottle - Chicago, IL
Dec. 14 - The Venue - Vancouver, BC
Dec. 15 - Showbox - Seattle, WA
Dec. 16 - Wonder Ballroom - Portland, OR
Dec. 17 - Regency Ballroom - San Francisco, CA
Dec. 18 - Wiltern - Los Angeles, CA

"Absolute Dissent" will be released on various formats including CD, two-colored vinyl and a two-CD deluxe edition entitled "Absolute Respect" featuring a bonus disc with KILLING JOKE songs covered by METALLICA, AMEN, HELMET, ECONOLINE CRUSH, DEAD BY APRIL, THE MAD CAPSULE MARKETS, NOUVELLE VAGUE, FEAR FACTORY, FOO FIGHTERS and KOTITEOLLISUUS.

"Absolute Dissent" track listing:

01. Absolute Dissent
02. The Great Cull
03. Fresh Fever From The Skies
04. In Excelsis
05. European Super State
06. This World Hell
07. Endgame
08. The Raven King
09. Honour The Fire
10. Depthcharge
11. Here Comes The Singularity
12. Ghosts Of Ladbroke Grove

CD 2 ("Absolute Respect" - deluxe edition only)

01. The Wait - METALLICA
02. Europe - AMEN
03. Primitive - HELMET
05. Love Like Blood - DEAD BY APRIL
06. Democracy (NIN Remix) - KILLING JOKE
08. Pssyche - NOUVELLE VAGUE
09. Millennium - FEAR FACTORY
10. Requiem - FOO FIGHTERS
11. Pandemonium - KOTITEOLLISUUS

Formed in London, England, in October 1978, KILLING JOKE was the brainchild of classically trained musician and vocalist Jeremy "Jaz" Coleman and drummer "Big" Paul Ferguson, who eagerly recruited two like-minded comrades in the form of guitarist Kevin "Geordie" Walker and bassist Martin "Youth" Glover and set about establishing a brand new and highly idiosyncratic manifesto for reinventing the rock 'n' roll wheel. Coming to life during what would become known as the "post-punk" era, KILLING JOKE was never willing to conform to the artistic restrictions of any particular scene or genre. Instead, they took a vast and bewildering array of influences and experience, and combined them to create something entirely unique and utterly timely that still stands up today.

Over the years, the band members have chosen to develop their talents in a variety of ways: Triple Grammy winner Jaz Coleman, for instance, has established an international reputation working with some of the world's greatest symphony orchestras, while Martin "Youth" Glover has become one of the U.K.'s most celebrated producers, supervising albums from THE VERVE and PRIMAL SCREAM, among many others, as well as achieving major success as one half of highly-regarded duo THE ORB.

Covered by METALLICA, FOO FIGHTERS and so many others, KILLING JOKE's apocalyptic post-punk/industrial vision continues to draw praise from such high-profile supporters as Jimmy Page and Billy Corgan, and the band's considerable musical legacy can be heard in the works of NIRVANA, MINISTRY, NINE INCH NAILS and the like — artists whose rise to fame never saw them cutting ties with the underground/alternative scene.

Once described by Paul Ferguson as "the sound of the earth vomiting," KILLING JOKE is now poised to take their music of resistance to a whole new level, both in the studio and on the road.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).