KILL DEVIL HILL Guitarist MARK ZAVON Releases 'Message At The Tone' Song From Debut Solo Album

KILL DEVIL HILL Guitarist MARK ZAVON Releases 'Message At The Tone' Song From Debut Solo Album

"Message At The Tone", a song from KILL DEVIL HILL guitarist Mark Zavon, can be streamed below. The track is taken from MarK's self-titled debut solo album, which will be released on November 23 via EMP Label Group, the label founded by MEGADETH bassist David Ellefson. Described in a press release as a collection of "timeless, uptempo hard rock songs" featuring "catchy riffs and giant hooks," the 10-song offering sees Zavon handling not only on guitars, but also bass, keys, and even all the vocals.

Co-founded by Zavon in 2011, KILL DEVIL HILL released two albums, "Kill Devil Hill" (2012) and "Revolution Rise" (2013), before going on hiatus as various members pursued other projects.

With KILL DEVIL HILL inactive, Mark found himself with time on his hands and an itch for a creative outlet. "I had a bunch of tunes that needed finishing or had just never seen the light of day, so I decided to put them together and see where it took me," he says.

Zavon hired Brian Tichy (OZZY OSBOURNE, WHITESNAKE, FOREIGNER) to record the drums and, with the exception of a couple of guest appearances by Vinny Appice (BLACK SABBATH, DIO) and Mike Duda (W.A.S.P.), handled the rest of the recording and performing duties himself at his Los Angeles studio. The effort was mixed by Josh Newell (INTRONAUT, BLACK VEIL BRIDES), and mastered by Paul Logus (STONE SOUR, THE WINERY DOGS).

Says Zavon: "I was really fortunate to have the opportunity to work with such talented people on this project; they really brought this record to life."

"Mark Zavon" track listing:

01. Message At The Tone
02. Back In The Day
03. Three Days Grace
04. Big Shot
05. South Of The Border
06. Color Of Blood
07. Whiskey Tango
08. Seven Stitches
09. Remember
10. Brick By Brick


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).