KARION: 'Iron Shadows' CD/DVD Featuring S.A.SLAYER, RIOT, HELSTAR Members Available

San Antonio, Texas classic metal outfit KARION has issued its long-in-the-works CD/DVD retrospective, "Iron Shadows", via the band's own Cameo Fontana imprint. The package includes the group's remastered demos, recorded at Sound Cube Studios in Converse, Texas with engineer Ron Thomas during the band's three-year tenure in the mid-'80s, as well as archival video footage from a show at the legendary Villa Fontana, site of the infamous S.A. SLAYER vs. L.A. SLAYER show in 1984.

"It has taken a lot longer than anticipated to get this release out to the fans but I'm glad it's finally available", states mainman/guitarist Art Villareal. "I regret that we never got to do an album with KARION back when but 'Iron Shadows' is the next best thing and should touch a nerve with old school metalheads, particuarly those that followed the Texas scene and all the great bands that were part of that unique place and time. There is even talk of us getting KARION back together later this year for some local shows, which would be awesome, and maybe head overseas in 2013. Nothing is out of the question at this point."

Contemporaries of such Texas legends as WATCHTOWER, S.A. SLAYER, PANTERA, HELSTAR, and JUGGERNAUT, KARION was formed in the summer of 1983 by guitarist Art Villareal upon his exit from local heroes SLAYER with whom he recorded the classic "Prepare To Die" EP for the Rainforest label. Villareal quickly recruited original SLAYER vocalist Chris Cronk, bassist Pete Perez, and drummer Frank Ferreira. The new band soon garnered a sizeable following gigging around San Antonio and Austin while sharing the stage with the likes of WATCHTOWER, SLAYER, WYZARD, and MILITIA at legendary venues such as the Villa Fontana, Cameo Theater, and The Ritz before calling it a day in 1986.

In the wake of KARION's demise, Cronk would briefly be associated with Colorado's JAG PANZER and later fronted TALISPHERE; Ferreira joined HELSTAR in time for the "A Distant Thunder" album; Villareal collaborated with RIOT rhythm section, Don Van Stavern (S.A. SLAYER, PITBULL DAYCARE, EVIL UNITED) and Bobby Jarzombek (FATES WARNING, SEBASTIAN BACH, HALFORD, RIOT), in JACK RUBY, while Perez would eventually replace Van Stavern in RIOT in 1990 and went on to record with both SPASTIC INK and LEATHERWOLF.

"Iron Shadows" track listing:

Disc 1 - CD:

01. Iron Shadows
02. Against All Flags
03. Panzer
04. We Are The Law
05. The Cat, The Edge And The Nail
06. There For None To See

Disc 2 - DVD:

01. The Cat The Edge And The Nail
02. Silent Fury
03. Against All Flags
04. Iron Shadows
05. We Are The Law
06. There For None To See
07. Blitzkrieg
08. Panzer
09. Prey Of The Game

"Iron Shadows" was digitally re-mastered by Villareal's former BLITZKRIEG and S.A. SLAYER bandmate, guitarist Bob Catlin (JUGGERNAUT, PIGFACE, PSEUDO BUDDHA).

"Panzer" and "Against All Flags" are currently streaming using the ReverbNation widget below.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).