KAMELOT: 'The Black Halo' Track Listing Revealed

KAMELOT have finalized the track listing for their new album, "The Black Halo", due on February 28, 2005 through SPV Records. The follow-up to last year's "Epica" was produced by Sascha Paeth and Miro at Gate and Pathway studios in Germany and features guest appearances by Shagrath (DIMMU BORGIR), Jens Johansson (STRATOVARIUS), Simone Simons (EPICA), Mari (MASQUERAID), as well as the KAMELOT choir, featuring Herbie Langhans (SEVENTH AVENUE), Amanda Somerville-Scharf, Miro, Gerit Göbel, Thomas Rettke (HEAVEN'S GATE) and Elisabeth Kjaernes, among others.

"The Black Halo" track listing:

01. March of Mephisto
02. When the Lights Are Down
03. The Haunting (Somewhere in Time)
04. Soul Society
05. Interlude I: Dei Gratia
06. Abandoned
07. This Pain
08. Moonlight
09. Interlude II: Un Assassinio Molto Silenzioso
10. The Black Halo
11. Nothing Ever Dies
12. Memento Mori
13. Interlude III: Midnight - Twelve Tolls for a New Day
14. Serenade

In a recent interview with a Spanish metal magazine, KAMELOT mainman/songwriter Thomas Youngblood spoke about about the lyrical themes on the new CD.

"This will be the second and final segment of the 'Epica' story," he revealed. "However artistically it is a different album altogether. The cover is different, the songs are heavier and the subject is definitely on the darker side of the story. Much like the second part of 'Faust'. Lyrically, there is a finalization of the story and conclusion of the saga. There are many parallels to our own lives today. Religion is a big theme on this new album one cannot deny the role that religion has on current events around the world.

"We knew that we would record the second part of the 'Epica' story," he continued. "The question was whether to do it now or later. Since the new songs on the album are really a different album from 'Epica' we thought to do it now. The story line continues into the main character Ariel's descent into the dark side of life. We are always changing and evolving with the sound and artwork, so the next release will reflect that. We have a black metal vocalist [DIMMU BORGIR's Shagrath] play the part of Mephisto. Logically."

As previously reported, KAMELOT will embark on the "Black Halo Over Japan Tour 2005" beginning on April 19. Confirmed dates are as follows:

Apr. 19 - Osaka, JPN @ TBA
Apr. 21 - Tokyo, JPN @ Ebisu Liquid Room
Apr. 22 - Tokyo, JPN @ Ebisu Liquid Room


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).