KALMAH: New Album Details Revealed

Finnish metallers KALMAH will release their sixth album, "12 Gauge", on March 3 via Spinefarm Records. The CD, which which will be made available in Japan on February 24, was recorded between June and August 2009 at Tico Tico studio in Kemi, Finland and was mastered at the Cutting Room in Sweden. Nine new songs and one cover version were laid down during the sessions which "went [smoothly], as always, even though this time the recordings were done in three different time periods within a half a year," according to the band.

"12 Gauge" track listing:

01. Rust Never Sleeps
02. One of Fail
03. Bullets Are Blind
04. Swampwar
05. Better Not To Tell
06. Hook The Monster
07. Godeye
08. 12 Gauge
09. Sacramentum

The Japanese version of the CD will include a cover version of THIN LIZZY's "Cold Sweat".

Regarding the new album's musical direction, lead guitarist Antti Kokko stated, "It is very KALMAH-like, but we haven't forgot to introduce new tuning here and there."

KALMAH's fifth studio album, "For The Revolution", was released in the U.K. in July 2008 via Spinefarm.

For the U.K. version of "Revolution", selected bonus audio/visual content was added to the mix, along with a slipcase bearing exclusive new artwork. The bonus audio track was a cover of SEPULTURA's "Arise", while on the visual side, "The Groan Of Wind" (a song from 2006's "Black Waltz") was also included as an enhanced video.

"For the Revolution" in May 2008 landed at position No. 17 on the Finnish national album chart. This was the band's strongest chart showing to date in Finland. The CD's cover artwork was designed by former SENTENCED drummer Vesa Ranta, who was also responsible for the artwork of KALMAH's previous album, "The Black Waltz".


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).