JORN LANDE Covers TARJA TURUNEN's 'I Walk Alone'; Audio Available

An audio sample of JORN's cover version of TARJA TURUNEN's "I Walk Alone" is available for download at this location (courtesy of The track comes off JORN's brand new studio album, entitled "Spirit Black", which is being released today (June 5) in Europe and July 14 in the USA via Frontiers Records.

Considered by many fans and critics as one of the finest voices in hard rock to arrive on the scene at the end of the 20th century, JORN is now ready to unleash upon the world yet another studio album entitled "Spirit Black". "I have carried some of these ideas with me for quite some time," says Lande. "Willy, Jimmy, Sid and myself have known each other since the '80s, and some of the song ideas and demos from back then have now seen the light of day, and become an essential part of 'Spirit Black'. When we were younger we usually never cared about what we did yesterday, only about the future, but the past can sometimes reveal hidden treasures and I discovered great potential in some of these song ideas.". The result: "Spirit Black" is another slab of classic hard rock with '80s metal elements which will definitely please all those who loved his recent "Lonely Are The Brave", released in June 2008.

A winning formula should not change, so Jorn has worked again with Tommy Hansen at Jailhouse Studios in Denmark ensuring the right edge to the rich guitar and vocal sound that is now trademark to all Jorn releases. "The fans can expect a solid and defined record that will shake the classic metal world and hammer the future Jorn legacy in stone," says Jorn. "The sound of the album is like a crossover between 'The Duke' and 'Lonely Are The Brave', and I feel that some of the songs on 'Spirit Black' have the potential to become essential hard rock classics that will stand the test of time."

Jorn Lande's strong and diverse voice and solid songwriting skills have now become legendary in the hard rock world. In a career spanning over 30 albums releases and as frontman for MILLENNIUM, ARK and MASTERPLAN, Jorn was recently featured on spectacular projects such as Tobias Sammet's AVANTASIA, along with stars like Alice Cooper and Eric Singer (KISS), Rudolf Schenker (SCORPIONS), Bob Catley (MAGNUM) and in Arjen Lucassen's recent concept album with AYREON.

"The musical style and direction is now more defined and less experimental. I'm not trying to reinvent the wheel anymore, I just want to write good quality hard rock songs that people can relate to and identify with," continues the Norwegian Viking. "As we entered into the new millennium, I realized and accepted that my strength as a singer was more classic rockoriented. If you buy a Jorn album today, you know what you will get. True classic hard rock music."

Jorn is getting ready to tour the world at the end of summer 2009 with his band formed by Jgor Gianola and Tore Moren on guitars, Nic Angileri on bass and Willy Bendiksen on drums.

"Spirit Black" final track listing:

01. Spirit Black
02. Below
03. Road of the Cross
04. The Last Revolution
05. City Inbetweeen
06. Rock And Roll Angel
07. Burn Your Flame
08. World Gone Mad
09. I Walk Alone (TARJA TURUNEN cover)
10. The Sun Goes Down (bonus track exclusively included in the first limited edition pressing in digipak)

Check out more audio samples at this location.

As a perfect complement to the new release, Frontiers will finally give a domestic release in the USA to the JORN DVD "Live in America" on July14, so far only available via import!


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).