JOE ELLIOTT's Previously Unreleased Cover Of 'This Is For You' To Appear On 'Beside Bowie: The Mick Ronson Story, The Soundtrack'

JOE ELLIOTT's Previously Unreleased Cover Of 'This Is For You' To Appear On 'Beside Bowie: The Mick Ronson Story, The Soundtrack'

UMe has announced the release of "Beside Bowie: The Mick Ronson Story, The Soundtrack" on June 8. The album comes on the heels of the film's streaming debuts on Hulu and Amazon Prime following last year's successful theatrical run and the DVD/Blu-ray releases.

The soundtrack is the first official career retrospective compilation for the guitar virtuoso Mick Ronson, known affectionately as "Ronno." As well as highlights from Ronson's solo records, the compilation includes material from his key collaborations with David Bowie, Elton John, Ian Hunter, Michael Chapman and QUEEN. The album also includes a previously unreleased cover version of "This Is For You" by DEF LEPPARD's Joe Elliott and a piano tribute to Ronson from Bowie's piano-man and band alumni Mike Garson (DAVID BOWIE, NINE INCH NAILS, SMASHING PUMPKINS). The soundtrack includes extensive essay and liner notes and will be available on CD and digital, heavyweight 180-gram black vinyl. There will also be a limited edition red vinyl version available exclusively at uDiscover.

For the career-spanning documentary, producer/director Jon Brewer ("BB King: The Life Of Riley", "Nat King Cole: Afraid Of The Dark", "Jimi Hendrix: Guitar Hero", "The Most Dangerous Band In The World") gained the unprecedented access and permission for use of materials relating to the life of rock hero Mick Ronson, who was largely commercially overlooked despite his direct contribution and pivotal involvement in countless iconic compositions of David Bowie and THE SPIDERS FROM MARS.

Despite his production and guitar work with Lou Reed, Morrissey, Ian Hunter and MOTT THE HOOPLE, Bob Dylan, John Mellencamp and many others, it is Ronson's dynamic support, contribution, and co-creation of the expansive and multi-faceted career of David Bowie and in fact that era of music, that the film and this soundtrack exposes. Featuring exclusive narration by David Bowie and exclusive contributions by Rick Wakeman, Joe Elliott, Roger Taylor, Ian Hunter, Angie Bowie and many more, "Beside Bowie: The Mick Ronson Story" is a tribute to an uncomplicated man who achieved the pinnacle of success in the music industry as well as the rarefied respect from his contemporaries for his production and guitar skills.

His humble beginnings (in the northern English city of Hull) underpinned the values and modest, unpretentious personality of Ronson. Originally working with Hull City Council while he pursued his craft with consummate dedication, word of his talent reached Bowie who grabbed at the chance to work with Ronson, and from there rock history was made. "The Man Who Sold the World", "Aladdin Sane", "Hunky Dory" and "Jean Genie" all were constructed with Ronno on guitar. In 1974, he was voted #2 'Best Guitarist' in Cream magazine (notably Eric Clapton came in third).

Sadly, in 1993 Ronson passed away before receiving the recognition he so richly deserved before taking that final bow, as seen on film, at his last show. He had been making a solo album at the time, which was subsequently finished by his contemporaries. Emperor Media have achieved ultimate authenticity and access in chronicling the life and works of this man, an extraordinary talent who became a cornerstone of rock music and who stood "Beside Bowie"during one of the most memorable periods of his dazzling career.

"Beside Bowie: The Mick Ronson Story, The Soundtrack" track listing:

1. QUEEN, Ian Hunter, David Bowie, Mick Ronson, Joe Elliott & Phil Collen - "All The Young Dudes" (Live)
Recorded live at The Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert For AIDS Awareness, April 20, 1992 at Wembley Stadium, London

2. Michael Chapman - "Soulful Lady"
Originally appeared on Fully Qualified Survivor (1970)

3. Elton John - "Madman Across The Water"
Originally appeared on Rare Masters (1992)

4. David Bowie - "Moonage Daydream"
Originally appeared on The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars (1972)

5. David Bowie - "Cracked Actor"
Originally appeared on Aladdin Sane (1973)

6. David Bowie - "Time"
Originally appeared on Aladdin Sane (1973)

7. Ian Hunter - Once Bitten, Twice Shy
Originally appeared on Ian Hunter (1975)

8. Mick Ronson - "I'd Give Anything To See You"
Originally appeared on Just Like This (1999)

9. Mick Ronson - "Hard Life"
Originally appeared on Just Like This (1999)

10. Mick Ronson - "Midnight Love"
Originally appeared on Heaven and Hull (1994)

11. Mick Ronson - Like A Rolling Stone
Originally appeared on Heaven and Hull (1994)

12. Joe Elliott - "This Is For You" *

13. QUEEN, David Bowie and Mick Ronson - "Heroes" (Live)
Recorded live at The Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert for AIDS Awareness, April 20, 1992 at Wembley Stadium, London

14. Mike Garson - "Tribute To Mick Ronson" *

* Previously unreleased


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).