JIMI HENDRIX: 'The Making Of Electric Ladyland' Set For Release

Experience Hendrix LLC has announced the release of "At Last… The Beginning: The Making of Electric Ladyland" DVD and companion "Electric Ladyland Collector's Edition" CD + DVD. The packages will be released on December 9 through Universal Music Enterprises coming forty years after the initial release of "Electric Ladyland", the third and final album by the JIMI HENDRIX EXPERIENCE. It was the last Hendrix studio album to have been produced during the guitar icon's lifetime and reflects his meticulous involvement in every facet of its creation.

"Electric Ladyland" is the source of such legendary Hendrix tracks as "All Along The Watchtower", "Crosstown Traffic", "Burning of the Midnight Lamp" and is commonly acknowledged by Hendrix cognoscenti as the most fully realized, cohesive project of his entire career. It was the only Hendrix album to have hit #1 on the Billboard charts. It is, indisputably, the crowning achievement of the JIMI HENDRIX EXPERIENCE and underscored Hendrix's abilities as singer, songwriter, guitarist, and producer.

"At Last… The Beginning: The Making of Electric Ladyland" documents the creation of the album that was released in the fall of 1968 as a 2-LP set. Some of Jimi's closest associates are seen on screen discussing their recollections of Hendrix and the project including JHE bassist Noel Redding, drummer Mitch Mitchell, manager Chas Chandler who discovered Hendrix after he left THE ANIMALS; drummer Buddy Miles who appeared on the album and later went on to work with Hendrix in THE BAND OF GYPSYS, JEFFERSON AIRPLANE's Jack Casady, Steve Winwood and Dave Mason from TRAFFIC and others who participated in the "Electric Ladyland" sessions that took place at Olympic studios in London and the Record Plant in New York. One of the highlights of the program includes a session with original "Electric Ladyland" engineer Eddie Kramer who discusses the techniques Hendrix, Mitchell and Redding employed in recording "Electric Ladyland" and playing some of the original multitrack tapes to illustrate the process.

Originally produced in 1997 as the premiere episode of the acclaimed "Classic Albums" television series, "The Making of Electric Ladyland" is newly edited with expanded features and almost 40 minutes of additional content not seen in the original feature.

While the DVD is offered as a stand-alone title, a Deluxe CD + DVD Collector's Edition that includes "The Making of…" DVD along with the classic "Electric Ladyland" CD offers consumers both the expository look at the "Electric Ladyland" as well as the actual album which ranks as one of the most significant projects in the Hendrix canon. All Music Guide, Blender and Rolling Stone have all awarded "Electric Ladyland" five (out of five) stars as it has been firmly ensconced in the pantheon of rock's greatest achievements for 40 years.

DVD track listing:

01. Prologue
02. Burning of the Midnight Lamp
03. …And The Gods Made Love
04. All Along The Watchtower
05. Rainy Day, Dream Away
06. Still Raining, Still Dreaming
07. Voodoo Chile
08. Crosstown Traffic
09. Voodoo Chile (Slight Return)
10. Little Miss Strange
11. Gypsy Eyes
12. South Saturn Delta
13. House Burning Down
14. 1983… (A Merman I Should Turn To Be)
15. Long Hot Summer Night
16. Have You Ever Been (To Electric Ladyland)
17. Epilogue

CD track listing;

01. …And The Gods Made Love
02. Have You Ever Been (To Electric Ladyland)
03. Crosstown Traffic
04. Voodoo Chile
05. Little Miss Strange
06. Long Hot Summer Night
07. Come On (Let The Good Times Roll)
08. Gypsy Eyes
09. Burning of the Midnight Lamp
10. Rainy Day, Dream Away
11. 1983… (A Merman I Should Turn To Be)
12. Moon, Turn The Tides…Gently Gently Away
13. Still Raining, Still Dreaming
14. House Burning Down
15. All Along The Watchtower
16. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).