RCA's Waylon Jennings tribute album, "I've Always Been Crazy", featuring METALLICA guitarist/vocalist James Hetfield on a solo cover of "Don't You Think This Outlaw Bit's Done Got Out of Hand", will be released Aug. 19 after being bumped from its original April date.

Hetfield's contribution comes from Jennings' September 1978 release, "I've Always Been Crazy". The process was unique for James as he not only sang, but played all the instruments (including the drums!) on the track. The song was produced by Bob Rock at the METALLICA HQ in San Francisco.

"The first time I met Waylon was when a college radio station wanted to get the two outlaws together of certain different styles of music," James said late last year. "They thought it was a good idea if I interview him and I guess Dad helped me out with a few of the questions. It's funny 'cause my Dad wanted me to get a CD signed for him and then Waylon brought some METALLICA stuff to get signed for his son. So it was completely cool."

Jennings, who died on February 13, 2002, was a recognized star of the '70s outlaw country music movement, and Hetfield has helped to further strengthen the things both held in common with his unique (and rather heavy!) tribute.

"I am extremely grateful to be a part of this project," added James, "to be able to put my stamp, my outlaw stamp on the music that he has created."

The complete track listing for "I've Always Been Crazy" is as follows:

01. JOHN MELLENCAMP - "Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way"
02. TRAVIS TRITT - "Lonesome, On'ry and Mean"
03. KENNY CHESNEY AND KID ROCK - "Luckenbach, Texas"
04. DWIGHT YOAKAM - "Stop the World (and Let Me Off)"
05. JESSI COLTER - "Storms Never Last"
06. HANK WILLIAMS JR. - "Only Daddy That'll Walk the Line"
07. PINMONKEY - "Are You Ready for the Country"
08. SARA EVANS AND DEANA CARTER - "Mamas Don't Let Your Babies Grow Up to Be Cowboys"
09. BEN HARPER - "Waymore's Blues"
10. ALISON KRAUSS - "You Asked Me To"
11. ANDY GRIGGS - "This Time"
12. STARGUNN - "I've Always Been Crazy"
13. BROOKS AND DUNN - "I Ain't Living Long Like This"
14. JAMES HETFIELD - "Don't You Think This Outlaw Bit's Done Got Out of Hand"
15. WAYLON JENNINGS - "The Dream"


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).