As first reported here on Friday (July 11), Earache Records have now officially confirmed the signing of the U.K. Satanic black/death metal band AKERCOCKE to a worldwide multi-album recording contract.

The band are currently mixing their new album, "Choronzon", at Sonic Ranch studios in Tornillo, Texas with producer Neil Kernon (NEVERMORE, CANNIBAL CORPSE) for a late 2003 release.

AKERCOCKE have risen to sinister prominence via the self-released "Rape of the Bastard Nazarene" album in 1999 and the bludgeoning follow-up, "Goat of Mendes" in 2001, each displaying Satanic majesty cloaked in occult eroticism. The band's commitment to their cause célèbre is marked by both musical and personal discipline, exemplified by the members' distinctive, highly tailored appearance. Also central to the AKERCOCKE ethos is the homage paid to The Blast, the primordial meeting of musical, personal and philosophical paths in harmony at any given moment within a song.

It is AKERCOCKE's distinct and completely authentic presentation that has led to the deal with Earache.

Label manager Dan Tobin commented, "AKERCOCKE fit perfectly the Earache criteria of extremity in all areas. The band's music is without question among the most challenging and innovative in the extreme metal scene right now. Their insistence on high quality and their refusal to deviate from their chosen path is what makes the band so intriguing and so individual. We look forward to aiding AKERCOCKE in spreading their Satanic majesty via the awesome new 'Chronozon' album later this year."

AKERCOCKE vocalist/guitarist Jason Mendonca added, "We are proud to follow in the footsteps of such luminaries as TERRORIZER, MORBID ANGEL and more recently DEICIDE by joining forces with Earache. It is fitting that our band should work with a label that has lead the way in promoting extreme music and we look forward to a productive partnership. We are also very pleased to be conspiring with Neil Kernon to make 'Choronzon' as punishing and massive sounding as possible. Beware! 'Choronzon' is coming."

"Choronzon", which is being described as "faster, heavier, more disturbing and much fucking nastier" than their previous output, will contain the following track listing:

01. Scapegoat
02. Praise the name of Satan
03. Bathykolpian Avatar
04. Becoming the Adversary
05. Leviathan
06. Entering the valley of the Crucified
07. Enraptured by Evil
08. Prince of the East
09. Son of the Morning

Unmixed versions of the tracks "Becoming the Adversary" and "Praise The Name Of Satan" can be downloaded from the group's official web site at this location.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).