IRON MAN To Release 'South Of The Earth' In September

Maryland doomsters IRON MAN have completed work on their fifth full-length album, "South Of The Earth", for a September 30 release via Rise Above.

Recording and mixing took place at Hudson Street Sound in Annapolis, Maryland with producer/engineer Frank Marchand III.

"Every time IRON MAN goes into the studio, we treat it like a blank canvas. As things progress, the art form takes shape," says Al Morris on the band's creative process.

"We wrote this album in about 2 months. Then we practiced our asses off to perfect the performance of the songs.

"This CD was done with Frank Marchand, an engineer/producer with a head full of ideas! He enhanced every element of this CD.

"We have great trust in Frank and followed his ideas. This is what came out!"

Rising out of the same Maryland/Washington D.C. mean streets as fellow U.S. doom pioneers PENTAGRAM and THE OBSESSED, IRON MAN formed in 1988 as a BLACK SABBATH tribute band by guitarist Alfred Morris III, whose musical career began in 1977 with mysterious proto-doom cult FORCE. Al's legendarily heavy, unearthly guitar tone was already much in evidence on FORCE's ultra-rare 1981 debut EP — and it has only deepened, hardened, improved and refined in the ensuing 32 years.

IRON MAN 2013 is:

Al Morris III - Guitar
"Screaming Mad" Dee Calhoun - Vocals
Louis Strachan - Bass
Jason 'Mot' Waldmann – Drums

"South Of The Earth" track listing:

01. South Of The Earth
02. Hail To The Haze
03. The Whore In Confession
04. The Worst And Longest Day
05. Aerial Changed The Sky
06. IISOEO (The Day Of The Beast)
07. Half-Face/Thy Brother's Keeper (Dunwich Pt 2)
08. In The Velvet Darkness
09. The Ballad Of Ray Garraty


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).