IRON MAIDEN's Legendary Debut To Be Reissued On Picture Vinyl For 40th Anniversary

IRON MAIDEN's Legendary Debut To Be Reissued On Picture Vinyl For 40th Anniversary

Parlophone Records will issue a very special limited-edition 12-inch vinyl version of IRON MAIDEN's iconic self-titled debut album on October 9. The release honors both the 40th anniversary of the album, which came out on April 14, 1980 and reached No. 4 in the U.K. chart, and also 2020's National Album Day, on October 10 — a celebration of the long-player in association with the Entertainment Retailers Association (ERA).

"Iron Maiden" was the album that saw the East London band start the journey that has led them over the course of four decades, 16 studio albums, over 90 million album sales and more than 2000 concerts around the globe, to become one of the biggest and most acclaimed metal bands on the planet. It features vocalist Paul Di'Anno and includes songs such as "Phantom Of The Opera", "Running Free" and "Iron Maiden" that have long been considered classics in the MAIDEN canon and still feature in many of the band's live sets today.

Di'Anno told Metal Hammer magazine about the making of "Iron Maiden": "There was too much excitement to feel any pressure.

"We knew that what we had was unique compared to every other band around, and we had spent the previous couple of years playing every shithole in the U.K., also some decent venues as well.

"The only person who might have had any doubts was me. Though I was a cocky frontman, I was all mouth and no trousers, and when I got into the studio, I realized I didn’t know what the fuck I was doing."

The limited-edition crystal clear vinyl picture disc is available to pre-order here.

Side One

01. Prowler
02. Remember Tomorrow
03. Running Free
04. Phantom Of The Opera

Side Two

01. Transylvania
02. Strange World
03. Charlotte The Harlot
04. Iron Maiden

Photo credit: George Bodnar Archive / Wilful Publicity


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).