IRON MAIDEN: 'The Essential Iron Maiden' Cover Artwork Posted Online

IRON MAIDEN fan site has uploaded the cover artwork for MAIDEN's forthcoming greatest hits album "The Essential Iron Maiden". Check it out at this location. As expected, the cover doesn't feature an Eddie drawing, but a picture of the band, in line with other Sony/BMG "Essential" collections of greatest hits. The release is expected between July 7, according to the Sony Store, and July 12 according to the latest Sony press release.

"The Essential Iron Maiden" features some of the greatest heavy metal music ever recorded. IRON MAIDEN have had huge worldwide impact these past 25 years thanks to all-time classic albums like "Iron Maiden", "Killers", "The Number Of The Beast", "Piece Of Mind", "Powerslave", "Live After Death", "Somewhere In Time", "Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son", "No Prayer For The Dying", "Fear Of The Dark", "The X Factor", "Virtual XI", "Brave New World", "Dance Of Death" and other live albums. Every studio album and lineup of IRON MAIDEN is represented here. The package also includes sleeve notes from noted journalist Lonn Friend. A sneak preview of the upcoming double live DVD and CD "Death On The Road" is provided thanks to the inclusion of "Iron Maiden" from this CD/DVD.

The songs on "The Essential Iron Maiden" are:

Disc One:

01. Paschendale
02. Rainmaker
03. The Wicker Man
04. Brave New World
05. Futureal
06. The Clansman
07. Sign Of The Cross
08. Man On The Edge
09. Be Quick Or Be Dead
10. Fear Of The Dark (Live)
11. Holy Smoke
12. Bring Your Daughter...To The Slaughter
13. The Clairvoyant

Disc Two:

01. The Evil That Men Do
02. Wasted Years
03. Heaven Can Wait
04. 2 Minutes To Midnight
05. Aces High
06. Flight Of Icarus
07. The Trooper
08. The Number Of The Beast
09. Run To The Hills
10. Wrathchild
11. Killers
12. Phantom Of The Opera
13. Running Free (Live)
14. Iron Maiden (Live)

IRON MAIDEN will be touring North America again this summer as co-headliners with BLACK SABBATH on Ozzfest 2005, the 10th anniversary of the enormously popular festival.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).