IRON MAIDEN Talk About New Album

Swedish newspaper Aftonbladet has published three articles on IRON MAIDEN and their upcoming album, "A Matter of Life and Death" — one where the band members talk about how smooth the recording process was, one that describes the new album and one account of the band's reactions while watching England playing Sweden in the soccer World Cup. Links to the articles and translations of some of the highlights can be found at

As previously reported, "A Matter of Life and Death", is scheduled for release on September 5 via Sanctuary Records.

The band started writing songs at the end of 2005 after a short break from their hugely successful festival appearances in Europe and the USA. After Christmas, the songs were completed and rehearsed when the band then got together with producer Kevin "Caveman" Shirley at Sarm West Studios in London to start work on recording the backing tracks.

As on previous projects all of the tracks were performed live and together in one room. No click tracks or computer tightening or manipulation has happened at any stage of the recording.

"A Matter of Life and Death" track listing:

01. Different Worlds (Smith/Harris) 4:17
02. These Colours Don't Run (Smith/Harris/Dickinson) 6:52
03. Brighter Than a Thousand Suns (Smith/Harris/Dickinson) 8:44
04. The Pilgrim (Gers/Harris) 5:07
05. The Longest Day (Smith/Harris/Dickinson) 7:48
06. Out Of the Shadows (Dickinson/Harris) 5:36
07. The Reincarnation of Benjamin Breeg (Murray/Harris) 7:21
08. For The Greater Good of God (Harris) 9:24
09. Lord Of Light (Smith/Harris/Dickinson) 7:23
10. The Legacy (Gers/Harris) 9:20

The band have just announced tour dates in Japan and the majority of the European dates at the end of 2006 are already sold out.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).