IRON MAIDEN Bassist's BRITISH LION Kicks Off European Tour; Video Footage, Review Available

The BRITISH LION European tour got off to an electrifying start in Portugal last night with a sold-out charity show at the Moto Clube de Faro's new 600-capacity clubhouse. The venue was packed to the rafters as fans saw IRON MAIDEN bassist Steve Harris and fellow BRITISH LION bandmates perform a 90-minute, blistering set of album tracks, new songs and covers.

The band burst onto the tiny Faro stage and launched immediately into a mesmerizing performance of album opener "This Is My God", followed by "Lost Worlds" and the electrifying "Karma Killer", vocalist Richard Taylor proving a natural frontman with wonderful command of the crowd, working an already-hyper audience into a virtual frenzy. So much so that the barrier in front of the stage looked in serious danger of giving way under the throng and had to be stabilised by the Moto Clube security team. With Steve Harris center-front with Richard Taylor, flanked by guitarists Grahame Leslie and David Hawkins and Simon Dawson on drums behind, band and crowd seemed to all merge into one swirling, sweaty, seething, rock and roll mass.

A new song, "Father Lucifer", came next, catching the crowd's imagination with its sensuous hypnotic beat, the entire audience now under singer Taylor's spell, including Steve, who was mouthing every word and looking absolutely in his element. Next up came "The Chosen Ones", intensifying the super-charged atmosphere, the whole crowd singing along with Richard Taylor's soaring, melodious vocals, complemented by the twin guitars and the whirling-dervish movements of Grahame Leslie, who often looked as if he might simply spin clear off the stage and disappear into the crowd.

After a stirring performance of "These Are The Hands" came three new songs ("Guineas And Crowns", "The Burning", "Last Chance"), all equally well-received before delving back into the BRITISH LION album for the most recent single "Us Against The World" and "A World Without Heaven". Then came the first cover song of the night, a take on the catchy "Do Ya Do Ya Want Me", for which Taylor once again had the crowd eating out of his hand, singing along with the chorus and obeying his every command.

Not until the band broke into dreamy, reflective "Judas", the last song of the set, did the frenetic pace slightly abate before once again gathering momentum for the song's climax. The band left the stage momentarily then reappeared to break into the second cover of the night, UFO's "Let It Roll", which sent the by-now delirious audience into overdrive, the whole venue by now in meltdown. The biggest cheer of the night came for closing song "Eyes Of The Young", which, if this opening night is anything to go by, is sure to become the anthem of this tour.

The setlist for the show was as follows:

01. This Is My God
02. Lost Worlds
03. Karma Killer
04. Father Lucifer
05. The Chosen Ones
06. These Are The Hands
07. Guineas And Crowns
08. The Burning
09. Last Chance
10. Us Against The World
11. World Without Heaven
12. Do You Want It
13. Judas


14. Let It Roll
15. Eyes Of The Young

Video footage of the concert can be seen below.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).