IRON MAIDEN Bassist Discusses Solo Album In New Audio Interview

Envision Radio Networks' "Hangar 19" recently scored the rare opportunity to interview Steve Harris of IRON MAIDEN. Promoting his first-ever solo release, "British Lion", Harris took time out of his busy schedule to talk with "Hangar 19" host Cutter and parts of that interview aired this past weekend on the show. The full uncut interview can be streamed below.

During this exclusive interview, Harris spoke in great detail about the new album and why he decided to release it out now. Harris explained, "Because it's finally ready to come out; it's taken forever and a day." He joked that "this album took longer than bloody 'The Lord Of The Rings' to come out."

The new album presents the veteran IRON MAIDEN bassist with the opportunity to play club shows — something that he hasn't had the chance to do with IRON MAIDEN in decades. He's looking forward to the challenge and says that between the smaller shows he'll play in support of "British Lion" and the larger shows he'll continue to play with IRON MAIDEN; it will be the "best of both worlds."

Classic metal fans will enjoy hearing Harris ruminate on the issue of sound quality and audio formats (while it's not his first choice, MP3s are "way better than cassettes or vinyl"), plus he shares the latest on MAIDEN, including the scoop on how they keep things fresh after so many years.

Interview (audio):

"British Lion" sold around 3,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release. The CD landed at position No. 3 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.

"British Lion" was released in the U.S. on September 25 via Universal Music Enterprises (UMe). Mixed by Kevin Shirley — whose credits include IRON MAIDEN as well as Led ZEPPELIN, JOURNEY and RUSH, among many others — the CD, which features Harris alongside vocalist Richard Taylor, guitarists Graham Leslie and David Hawkins and drummer Simon Dawson, presents a different side of the bassist's musical visions.

"British Lion" comprises ten songs that Steve and his collaborators have been working on between IRON MAIDEN tours and releases and is described by Harris as "'70s-influenced, British-sounding hard rock." "I'd say it's more mainstream rock than metal... and quite commercial… but good commercial," he said. "There's all kinds of stuff going on, with nods to THE WHO and UFO and some classic British rock bands, but it's not the progressive rock album some might be expecting."

"British Lion" track listing:

01. This Is My God
02. Lost Worlds
03. Karma Killer
04. Us Against The World
05. The Chosen Ones
06. A World Without Heaven
07. Judas
08. Eyes Of The Young
09. These Are The Hands
10. The Lesson


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).