IGGY POP To Release 'Live San Fran 1981' On DVD

Music Video Distributors and Target Video have announced the home viewing release of "Iggy Pop – Live San Fran 1981" for worldwide distribution on DVD.

This is the Godfather of punk, dressed in drag, in an exceptionally energetic performance for a crazed-crowd in San Francisco. Over the 30-plus years of Iggy Pop's career, one thing has always remained constant, his absolute devotion and dedication to the live show. From the chaos of the early STOOGES shows to his recent work with the TROLLS (as well as the reformed STOOGES), no one can deny that Pop is the epitome of live rock action.

While this DVD may look rough and raw to 21st century eyes, it is also the best representation of Iggy live during an otherwise pitifully undocumented era of his career. Fronting a crack band featuring BLONDIE drummer Clem Burke and future DAVID BOWIE guitarist Carlos Alomar, Pop is as unpredictable and dominant as ever (no small feat since he is sporting a mini skirt, garters and stockings for most of the show). Filmed on November 25, 1981 near the end of their tour supporting his 1981 album "Party", Iggy and co. are raw and ready for business. "Live San Fran 1981" provides a snapshot of a hungry artist at the top of his game in front of an adoring crowd.

"Iggy Pop – Live San Fran 1981" track listing:

01. Some Weird Sin
02. Houston Is Hot Tonight
03. Eggs On Plate
04. Rock & Roll Party
05. Bang Bang
06. Lust For Life
07. Pumpin' For Jill
08. I'm A Conservative
09. T.V. Eye
10. 1969
11. Dum Dum Boys
12. I Need More

Iggy Pop - Vocals
Carlos Alomar - Guitar
Gary Valentine - Guitar
Rob Duprey - Guitar
Mike Page - Bass
Clem Burke – Drums

"Iggy Pop – Live San Fran 1981" will be released on April 19 through Music Video Distributors.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).