'Hooks That Kill - The Best Of Mick Mars & Mötley Crüe' Notes And Guitar Tabs Available

Cherry Lane Music Publishing Company, Inc. has published "Hooks That Kill - The Best Of Mick Mars & Mötley Crüe", a collection of Mick Mars-approved notes and guitar tabs for 15 songs from the legendary guitarist of MÖTLEY CRÜE. It includes:

* Dr. Feelgood
* Don't Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)
* Girls, Girls, Girls
* Kick Start My Heart
* Hell on High Heels
* Looks That Kill
* Primal Scream
* Smokin' in the Boys Room
* Wild Side

For more information, click here.

Mars signed with Cherry Lane in early 2007 after spending more than 20 years working with Warner Chappell.

In announcing the signing back in April 2007, Richard Stumpf, SVP of Creative Services & Marketing at Cherry Lane, noted, "It is a rare opportunity to work with someone of Mick Mars' caliber whose legendary hits have literally defined a generation. In talking to Mick, he made clear to me his interest in writing with other songwriters beyond his brothers in MÖTLEY CRÜE and I was extremely impressed by his eclectic songwriting styles. His history and talent will have a profound effect on new up-and-coming songwriters and recording artists. We already have him collaborating with some of our songwriter artists and we have lots of other sessions in the works. Soon Mick will be thought of as not only one of the legends from MÖTLEY CRÜE, but also as one of today's key songwriting collaborators."

The deal was negotiated by Stumpf and Keith Hauprich, VP of Business and Legal Affairs, from Cherry Lane and Dina LaPolt from LaPolt Law, P.C.

"Mick instantly connected with Cherry Lane and their pro-active approach to collaborative songwriting," stated attorney Dina LaPolt, who represents Mars and who was responsible for brokering the deal. Mars' agreement with Warner Chappell terminated on July 1, 2006. Mars added, "What excited me the most about Cherry Lane is that they were really interested in all the other types of songs that I write besides the traditional MÖTLEY CRÜE-type songs. I am really very thrilled with all that they are doing."

MÖTLEY CRÜE manager, Allen Kovac from 10th Street Entertainment, commented, "Mick has written and performed some of the most memorable riffs and solos in rock. He is truly a crown jewel in the world of guitarist."

Mick Mars' signature guitar sound has become a staple of American music and Mars has been deemed one of the world's greatest guitar players from critics around the globe to many recording artists and musicians who credit Mars as an influence, which include such notables as Slash, Joe Perry from AEROSMITH, Carmine Apice, Alice Cooper, BUCKCHERRY, and Marilyn Manson, just to name a few.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).