HELLFIGHTER Preparing To Release 'Damnation's Wings'

HELLFIGHTER, the band formed by ex-members of cult U.K. thrashers XENTRIX, has completed work on its debut album, "Damnation's Wings". According to a press release, the CD was recorded at Viscon Studios in Northwest England and at Backstage Studios in Derbyshire, U.K. and it "showcases ten new songs [that see] HELLFIGHTER sticking to their thrash and metal roots whilst introducing a strong, modern, melodic edge."

HELLFIGHTER's current lineup consists of Simon Gordon (vocals, ex-XENTRIX), Kristian Havard (guitar, ex-XENTRIX), Den Gasser (drums, ex-XENTRIX), Pete Smith (guitar, ex-KILL II THIS) and Mel Gasser (bass).

In a recent interview, Havard talked about the making of "Damnation's Wings": "In some ways we have revisited the bands and sounds that we loved as kids — bands like MAIDEN, PRIEST, FORBIDDEN, TESTAMENT, ANTHRAX — but really we've just made the sort of record that we want to hear today.

"Everyone in the band and at the record label is very excited about 'Damnation's Wings'. It's taken a little while longer than we had hoped to complete the writing and recording process but we didn't want to compromise on anything. The end result is something we're extremely proud of. Most of all, we're looking forward to getting out on the road to promote the album."

"Damnation's Wings" track listing:

01. Tower Of Sin
02. A Lesser God
03. Legacy Of Hate
04. Faith In Lies
05. Damnation's Wings
06. Revolution Within
07. Epitaph
08. Bring Only Pain
09. Descent
10. Firewalker

The album artwork can be seen below.

"The painting is by a guy called Steve Smith who's based here in the north of England," says Gordon. "We didn't want to go totally down the digital-art route because there was a definite vibe when we were writing and recording where we looked to a lot of the bands we grew up with for inspiration. We carried that through to the artwork.

"I remember that buzz we used to get from looking at all the detail on the new MAIDEN album cover or whatever. So we gave Steve the album title and asked him to come up with something that suggested the nastier side of modern life and technology as a bit of a nod to all those great bands."

"Damnation's Wings" will be released worldwide before the end of 2010 on Heavy Metal Records. Distribution for the CD will be handled by Plastic Head in Europe, and MVD in the U.S. and South America.

For more information, visit www.hellfighter.co.uk.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).