HELIX Preparing To Film Two New Videos

Vocalist Brian Vollmer of Canadian hard rock veterans HELIX has issued the following update:

"YouTube is the way to go when it comes to videos nowadays. At least with bands like HELIX. MTV and MuchMusic don't really play rock videos anymore and besides, where are you ever going to recoup all the money that it costs to make a big budget video?

"Back in the day videos like [HELIX's] 'Wild In The Streets' cost $120,000 to make. With CDs only selling a fraction of what they used to, it's a miracle when bands even break even on their recording costs. The nice thing about YouTube is that it forces bands to use their brains instead of spending money. You have to be creative.

"When [HELIX's new album] 'Vagabond Bones' first came out [in November 2009], Brent [Doerner, HELIX guitarist] put together a video for it which to date has gotten over 4,600 hits. That's great! In January he's going to be putting together two more with the help of the audio/visual department of Conestoga College in Kitchener.

"We're going to be filming for the songs 'Make 'Em Dance' and 'Monday Morning Meltdown'. It's a toss-up between the two songs which will be the first song that we release to Canadian radio; perhaps the video will tip the scales one way or the other.

"Brent found a place to film out in Woodstock, Ontario with the help of our buddy Jay Wetlaufer. Somehow Brent also got the use of the old Woodstock jail for a couple of hours to film my scenes for 'Monday Morning Meltdown'.

"We're all pretty excited about doing this and about how it's all going to turn out."

"Vagabond Bones" was released in Canada via Universal/Fontana and in the U.S. through Perris Records. Vollmer collaborated with Sean Kelly (CRASH KELLY) on material for the CD, which was mixed by engineer Aaron Murray.

"Vagabond Bones" track listing:

01. The Animal Inside (Won't Be Denied)
02. Go Hard or Go Home
03. Vagabond Bones
04. Monday Morning Meltdown
05. When The Bitter's Got The Better Of You
06. Hung Over But Still Hanging In
07. Best Mistake I Never Made
08. Make 'Em Dance
09. Jack It Up

HELIX has been active in the past several years with several releases.

The band's previous collection of original material, "The Power of Rock and Roll", came out in 2007.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).