HELIX Filming Pilot For Reality-TV Series; 'Smash Hits Unplugged' Samples Available

Three songs from "Smash Hits Unplugged", the forthcoming acoustic album from Canadian hard rock veterans HELIX, can be streamed on the band's official web site (in the audio player in the upper left-hand corner of the page). Tentatively due before the end of the year, the CD was recorded at A Studios in London, Ontario with co-producer Aaron Murray and is comprised of "all our hits plus the JAMES LEROY song 'A Touch of Magic' which I've always wanted to record," states singer Brian Vollmer. The artwork for the CD was executed by Matt Brooks of Babyjack Design, who also designed the cover for the last HELIX"Vagabond Bones".

"Smash Hits Unplugged" track listing:

* Rock You
* Heavy Metal Love
* Gimme Gimme Good Lovin'
* Make Me Do (Anything You Want)
* Wild In The Streets/No Rest For The Wicked
* Deep Cuts The Knife
* The Kids Are All Shakin'
* Dream On
* That Day Is Gonna Come
* Good To The Last Drop
* A Touch of Magic (JAMES LEROY cover)

In other news, HELIX is filming a pilot for a reality-TV series called "Vagabond Bones". HELIX frontman Brian Vollmer states, "I'm really excited as to where this could lead if we get a network to carry it.

He added, "I know what you're thinking — not another reality show! I really think our story is unique, however. A clear distinction between us and the other shows out there is the personalities in the band. That's always been our strongest point and one that we plan on focusing on when we film. [Cameraman] Pat [Portelance] is going to spend a day with everyone at their homes to capture the 'essence' of what we're all about, as well as the shows we have coming up, including our four-date/three-day stint in Alberta at the end of November. We plan on getting the behind-the-scenes 'stuff' that's involved with putting dates together.

"Unlike the American reality shows which focus on lavish lifestyles, ours is a blue collar story of a Canadian band traveling the vast expanses of the country. Along the way we'll visit old haunts, interview and talk to fellow Canadian musicians, and dispense some of the wisdom that hopefully we've learned over the years. . . Just the fact that we're touring across Canada will give the show an entirely different look."

As previously reported, HELIX is putting together a compilation album consisting of songs that were released between 2000 and 2010, including three tracks that originally appeared on singer Brian Vollmer's solo album.

The track listing for this CD is tentatively as follows:

* I'm A Live Frankenstein
* X-Ray Eyes
* King Of The Hill
* Get Up!
* Fill Your Head With Rock
* Cyberspace Girl
* The Animal Inside
* Make 'Em Dance
* Hung Over (But Still Hanging In)

Bonus tracks:

* The William Tell Overture
* It's a Long Way To The Top If You Wanna Rock N' Roll (AC/DC cover)

HELIX's latest album, "Vagabond Bones", was released in Canada via Universal/Fontana and in the U.S. through Perris Records. Vocalist Brian Vollmer collaborated with Sean Kelly (CRASH KELLY) on material for the CD, which was mixed by engineer Aaron Murray.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).