HELIX 'Anthology' CD In The Works

Veteran Canadian hard rockers HELIX are talking to several record companies in various territories (Canada, U.S. and Europe) about the possibility of releasing a HELIX "anthology" CD. The collection would include about 20 tracks, covering all the HELIX LPs over the years plus a couple of songs from singer Brian Vollmer's solo album, "When Pigs Fly". Also included on the CD would be re-recorded versions of some of HELIX's biggest hits: "Rock You", "Heavy Metal Love", "Deep Cuts The Knife" and "Wild In The Streets".

Tentative track listing for HELIX "anthology' CD:

01. Billy Oxygen
02. It's Too Late
03. Heavy Metal Love
04. Rock You
05. Deep Cuts The Knife
06. Wild In The Streets
07. Dream On
08. Good To The Last Drop
09. Running Wild In The 21st Century
10. That Day Is Gonna Come
11. The Same Room
12. Wrecking Ball
13. Jaws Of The Tiger
14. I'm A Live Frankenstein
15. F.U.G.L.Y.
16. Six Feet Underground
17. Cyberspace Girl
18. Make 'Em Dance
19. Monday Morning Meltdown
20. Skin In The Game

HELIX recently released the "Skin In The Game" EP. The CD was mixed by Aaron Murray and was mastered at Carvello Mastering in Toronto, Ontario. The artwork was once again created by Babyjack Design, who previously worked with the band on the "Vagabond Bones" and "Smash Hits Unplugged" releases.

Regarding the new material, Vollmer said, "I wrote [the first] four songs with Sean Kelly. One ('Angelina') was also a co-write with Moe Berg. Sean has been my partner on the last couple of HELIX discs — 'Vagabond Bones' and 'Smash Hits Unplugged' — as well as being a large part of the acoustic show.

"These four songs ('Champagne Communist', 'Angelina', 'Skin In The Game', and 'The Bitch Is A Bullet') are really just a continuation of the 'Vagabond Bones' CD. We wrote them very shortly after that CD was finished and they've been sitting in the can for a year."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).