HELIX: 30th Anniversary CD, Concert Scheduled For July

According to a posting on the HELIX web site, EMI/Capitol Records will be issuing a compilation album, entitled "Rocking You For 30 Years", to coincide with the band's upcoming anniversary show on Saturday, July 17 at the Sanderson Centre in Brantford, Ontario. The complete track listing for the CD is as follows:

01. Running Wild in the 21st Century
02. The Dirty Dog
03. When the Hammer Falls
04. The Kids are all Shakin'
05. Kiss it Goodbye
06. Wrecking Ball (from "Half-alive")
07. I'm a Live Frankenstein (prev. unreleased)
08. Good to the Last Drop (radio version, prev. unreleased)
09. S-E-X-rated (from the B-sides CD)
10. I Just Wanna Be Stoned (prev. unreleased)
11. Delilah (unreleased)
12. Heavy Metal Cowboys
13. Make Me Do Anything You Want
14. Rock You
15. Deep Cuts
16. Heavy Metal Love
17. Gimme Gimme Good Lovin'

According to singer Brian Vollmer, "I have been working on the cover design and inside sleeve credits for the past week. The inside credits will include a little story or comment about each song on the disc. I'll probably put in a 'whack' of pictures as well. It's going to be a fun project and will coincide well with the anniversary show."

In a recent interview with AllThingsMetal.net, Vollmer spoke in greater detail about the upcoming 30th anniversary concert:

"My life for the past six months has been mostly working on the anniversary concert," he said. "We're holding it at The Sanderson Centre in Brantford, Ontario. Brantford is half-way between London and Hamilton, Ontario. It's a little out-of-the-way but the hall is so beautiful that I couldn't resist. I wanted the perfect setting for such a momentous occasion in the band's career. The show is actually three parts. Part one will be the lobby where we will be exhibiting mounted HELIX posters from over the years, all our records-rare, radio released only, picture discs, singles on the H&S label, etc, and other HELIX mementoes, and vintage HELIX t-shirts. The shirts (60 in total) will be auctioned off on eBay the week after and all proceeds will go to The Tim Horton Children's Foundation. There will also be two 40" TV screens with a Powerpoint presentation put together by myself and Ron Kingyens (our Planethelix webmaster) set up. The pictures run on 'a loop' and cover the band's career. Also on display is a quilt made of HELIX shirts (donated by long-time fan Jay Wetlaufer) and the backdrop from the 'Wild in the Streets' album which was hung from the Capitol Tower Building in L.A.

"Part Two of the show will be the world premier of '3 Decades of Helix-No Rest for the Wicked', an hour-long rockumentary I've been putting together for the past 6 months with Northpost Media. It's basically a walk through the history of the band using interviews, home movie footage, video footage, etc. from the band's personal archives. Pretty interesting and rock n' roll historical stuff. It shows a period of rock n' roll history not likely to ever be repeated — and for that reason alone I think people should buy it. Copies of the DVD will be available that night. It will also contain 'tons' of exta bonus footage. EMI has already expressed interest in putting this out — a bonus. Part Three of the show will be the actual live performance. I have the original line-up coming back to do one song as well as Fritz, Brent, Brian Doerner, and Leo Neibeduk. Background singers for the night are Cheryl Lescom (a great Southern Ontario blues singer who guests on 'Lint and Pennies' from the new CD) and Cindy Weichmann. As each different line-up of the band appears onstage they will be introduced by a short film clip projected on a screen. These will be super 8, still shots, etc. from the time period. The show ends with a private party at The Holiday Inn." Read the rest of the AllThingsMetal.net interview here.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).