HEAD OF THE DEMON To Release Debut Album This Month

The Ajna Offensive has set a January 22 international release date for HEAD OF THE DEMON's self-titled debut album.

A mysterious Swedish entity comprising nameless members from known bands, HEAD OF THE DEMON's first CD is a sepulchral, doom-laden slab of occult black/death metal that's Lovecraftian in intent and aims for the abyss.

A press release states: "H.P. Lovecraft is an inexhaustible source of inspiration for those who play metal, and tributes to the great visionary of Providence have been countless. HEAD OF THE DEMON are ones who have seen the faces of the Great Old Ones, yet all but eschew the usual clich├ęs based upon tentacles and unspeakable horrors. Their occult black/death metal is hypnotic and honed, played mainly on the rawness of riffs and chants that are repeated cyclically. Psychedelic vertigo is assured, and with it the stimulation of perceptions that open windows to mysterious parallel dimensions. The voice sounds like that of Tom Warrior mentally dissociated under acid, while the guitars constantly seek ways of expressive, original, yet oblique metal without foresaking metal altogether. The long ramblings of 'Phantasmagoria' and 'They Lie In Wait - Riding The Waste' creep ominously between proto-doom BLACK SABBATH-ian realms and the atmosphere of Mortuary Drape's cenotaph, never fully enjoying one or the other. The key, however, is the ancient and mysterious sound of an organ, which gives additional character to such ritualistic music, making the result extremely gruesome. HEAD OF THE DEMON realize that in order to see the true horror and the unfathomable depths narrated by Lovecraft, you do not need to travel to the edge of the cosmos: just look in our own head...in the demon's head.

"Head Of The Demon" track listing:

01. By Titan Hand (6:30)
02. The Lie In Wait - Riding The Waste (9:22)
03. Phantasmagoria (5:48)
04. The Man From Foreign Land (6:51)
05. The Key (6:22)
06. Fifth House Of The Mausoleum (8:18)
07. Wraith From The Unknown (7:54)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).