New York-based metal band HAVOCHATE, now featuring former TESTAMENT bassist Greg Christian, have signed a new worldwide deal with Indecent Media. The group's sophomore album, "Cycle of Pain", is scheduled for release on March 15.

"We had been in contact with other labels and they all offered us more or less the same things," stated guitarist Freddy Ordine. "Indecent assured us that we are going to be a priority for the label. It is a small up-start with more of a team/family vibe, and with great distribution in the States. For me, these two things are the most important."

Jurgen Korduletsch, president of dance and pop label Radikal Records, established Indecent Media in the fall of 2004 with a focus on finding, releasing, and developing rock and alternative artists.

HAVOCHATE is one of the label's first signings. The group caught Korduletsch's ear with their 2003 debut, "This Violent Earth". Impressed with the group's level of musicianship and the guitar virtuosity of OrdineHAVOCHATE's founder and leader — he convinced the group to start working on a new album immediately.

"I almost fell out of my chair when I heard the album for the first time," said Korduletsch. "It is a tremendous collision of great songs and brutal force playing."

The follow-up to "This Violent Earth", which was released through Root Of All Evil Records, "Cycle of Pain" is being described as a "marked growth" from its predecessor, brought on partially by the band's revamped lineup. Joining Ordine are vocalist Tim Bouchee, who joined the band early last year; Mario Rodriguez, who was added as second guitarist after the recording of the first album; Christian; and drummer Ovie Rodriguez. Handling the drums during the "Cycle of Pain" recording sessions was former HADES skinsman Ron Lipnicki.

"I think that this record was just a natural growth that had to happen," Ordine said. "We changed a lot over the past year and tend to look at things a whole lot differently now. The writing process was a team effort. When we started to write, we had no predetermined idea of what we wanted. The only thing we knew was every song had to be real. This record was written purely from the heart."

Added Mario Rodriguez: "It's the first time Freddy and I have collaborated in a recording process, so it was great to bounce off ideas and create. It's like our last record was in black in white and 'Cycle' is full of colors and textures."

01. Cold Embrace
02. Cycle of Pain
03. Fiction
04. Alone
05. Speak No More
06. Rotting Hour
07. Crack in the Sky
08. Tentacle
09. Still Alive
10. Wicked
11. Buried in Lies

Audio samples of all 11 tracks are available for download at this location.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).