HARDLINE: New Album Details Revealed

Frontiers Records has set an April 17 European release of the long-awaited new album from HARDLINE, entitled "Leaving the End Open".

HARDLINE was formed when brothers Johnny (vocals) and Joey Gioeli (guitar), originally from the band BRUNETTE, teamed up with guitarist Neal Schon (JOURNEY). Signed by MCA as soon as Schon left BAD ENGLISH, with the addition of Todd Jensen (DAVID LEE ROTH, ALICE COOPER) on bass and Deen Castronovo (also coming from BAD ENGLISH and later on with JOURNEY) on drums, the band went on to record its debut, "Double Eclipse", for MCA in 1992 and then toured with such heavy-hitters as VAN HALEN and MR. BIG.

While never popular in the mainstream, HARDLINE's album became a classic among the hard rock fraternity and is still today regarded as one of the finest efforts of the decade. However, by that time, grunge and alternative styles had already taken over and melodic rock was being pushed aside. Tension among band members, the record company and perhaps certain egos, got in the way of an immediate follow-up album, despite the band having written more than enough material.

Years later, Johnny (who in the meanwhile gathered vast recognition signing for the German axe hero Axel Rudi Pell) and his brother Joey decided to give it another go with HARDLINE after a call from Frontiers Records, and with an all new lineup, they produced the awesome return album, "II", in 2002, with Josh Ramos (of THE STORM and TWO FIRES fame) taking Neal Schon's place on lead guitar.

Hailed by critics and fans alike as a top-class return, the band returned on stage headlining the Gods Festival in Bradford in June 2002. Since then all band members worked on different projects. "Everyday life can sometimes step in and throw you off balance," says Johnny Gioeli. "This was the case for the big delay. I just had to put it aside and make sure I was ready for the task at hand. I'm not sure of where the future will bring me, hence the title 'Leaving the End Open'. I don't want to plan anymore, I just want to see where life takes me."

Johnny and Josh Ramos started to work on new HARDLINE songs in 2006. With a renewed line-up now featuring Johnny Gioeli on vocals and Josh Ramos on all guitars, with Michael T. Ross on keyboards, Jamie Brown on bass and Atma Anur on drums, HARDLINE is now back from where they have left off producing a killer new album, "Leaving The End Open", chock-full of killer guitar riffs, amazing hooklines and heartfelt ballad sealed with Gioeli's incredible vocals and the band's instrumental prowess.

"Leaving The End Open" track listing:

01. Voices
02. Falling Free
03. Start Again
04. Pieces Of Puzzles
05. Bittersweet
06. She Sleeps In Madness
07. In This Moment
08. Give In To This Love
09. Before This
10. Hole In My Head
11. Leaving The End Open

Check out audio samples at this location.

"Today's worldwide economy has made it so difficult for artists to get out on the road and share the music with the fans," concludes Johnny. "Our fans do not go unnoticed... we will do everything possible to play shows and demonstrate the power this line up has."

The album will be released on May 19 in the USA via Frontiers/Super D and in Japan on King Records.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).