GUNS N' ROSES Bassist Names Solo Debut

GUNS N' ROSES bassist Tommy Stinson has set "Village Gorilla Head" as the title of his solo debut, due on August 3 through Sanctuary Records.

The founding REPLACEMENTS member told last summer that he recorded the material for the set in a Los Angeles studio owned by Charles Thompson (a.k.a. Frank Black) with contributions from A PERFECT CIRCLE drummer Josh Freese, his brother Jason Freese on saxophone, CATHOLICS guitarist Dave Philips, and GNR guitarist Richard Fortus and keyboardist Dizzy Reed.

"It was the most fun I've had making a record yet," Stinson told Rolling Stone magazine. "Everyone who contributed put a lot of love and laughs into the sessions, which is really hard to do when you're on someone else's clock."

"Village Gorilla Head" track listing:

01. Without a View
02. Moment Too Soon
03. Someday
04. Something's Wrong
05. Motivation
06. Village Gorilla Head
07. Hey You
08. Bite Your Tongue
09. Light of Day
10. O.K.
11. Couldn't Wait

As for "Chinese Democracy", the album GUNS N' ROSES have been working on for nearly a decade, Stinson told Rolling Stone, "All I can say right now is the record is going to come out sometime sooner than later," he says, "and I will tour with them when they call me to do so."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).