Guitarist Brent Doerner has announced his departure from Canadian hard rockers HELIX.

Says the band: "Although we are sad to hear the news, we wish Brent all the best in his future. Brent is a huge part of the band and will be truly missed by fans from around the world to the HELIX family. Brent's last shows will be September 28th at the Rockpile in Toronto and September 29th in Stratford, Ontario. Thanks for all the music and the lifelong memories you've brought to the band, Brent... YOU ROCK!!!"

HELIX will release a compilation CD entitled "1983-2012" in September. Singer Brian Vollmer states, "It will feature 19 tracks from various HELIX CDs over the years plus one brand new track, the Christmas track that Sean [Kelly; CRASH KELLY] and I wrote. We're keeping the name of the song under wraps for the time present, but as we get into the later part of the summer I'll let everyone know what it is. The game plan is to have the song go to radio the first week of September and the video to be released on Facebook, MySpace, YouTube and [the] Planet Helix [web site] at the same time. At the end of the video will be the Christmas tour dates plus a link to the Heavy Mental Christmas web site where fans will be able to buy tickets online. I'm very excited about this and everyone who has heard the song thinks it's going to get lots of airplay/video play. We'll see..."

"1983-2012" CD tentative track listing:

01. Danger Zone
02. Running Wild In The 21st Century
03. Give It To You
04. Jaws Of The Tiger
05. Deep Cuts The Knife
06. Skin In The Game
07. Good To The Last Drop
08. The Same Room
09. Heavy Metal Love
10. Fill Your Head With Rock
11. Get Up!
12. Wild In The Streets
13. Six Feet Underground
14. Rock You
15. Champagne Communist
16. Animal Inside
17. Make 'Em Dance
18. I'm A Live Frankenstein
19. You Got The Love That I Like
20. Mystery Christmas Song

HELIX last year released the "Skin In The Game" EP. The CD was mixed by Aaron Murray and was mastered at Carvello Mastering in Toronto, Ontario. The artwork was once again created by Babyjack Design, who previously worked with the band on the "Vagabond Bones" and "Smash Hits Unplugged" releases.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).