GREEN CARNATION To Release First New Album In 14 Years, 'Leaves Of Yesteryear', In May

GREEN CARNATION To Release First New Album In 14 Years, 'Leaves Of Yesteryear', In May

Norwegian progressive metal act GREEN CARNATION will release "Leaves Of Yesteryear", its first collection of new music in 14 years, on May 8 via Season Of Mist. The cover artwork was created by Niklas Sundin and can be found below.

"The cover contains elements from the lyrics on the album, affected by the music and expressed through the cover artist Niklas Sundin's pencil," singer Kjetil Nordhus says. "Niklas put a lot of effort into going deep into this album, and came up with a few different sketches. We immediately fell for this one. It is rich in detail, is eye catching and, of course, has Niklas's signature, which we are very fond of."

Track listing:

01. Leaves Of Yesteryear (08:03)
02. Sentinels (05:42)
03. My Dark Reflections Of Life And Death (15:36)
04. Hounds (10:10)
05. Solitude (05:05)

Total: 0:44:36

After almost 10 years of total silence, GREEN CARNATION announced its comeback to the international metal scene for the 15th anniversary of their cult classic "Light Of Day, Day Of Darkness" in 2016.

GREEN CARNATION from Kristiansand, Norway, was founded as early as 1990. After founding member Tchort joined legends-to-be EMPEROR and continued in SATYRICON and EINHERJER, the band was laid to rest until its debut album, "A Journey To The End Of The Night", came out in 2000. Following a period with lineup changes, 2001 marked the release of the band's epic "Light Of Day, Day Of Darkness".

With their albums "A Blessing In Disguise" (2003) and "The Quiet Offspring" (2005), GREEN CARNATION shifted towards a more rock-orientated style, before they surprised everyone with the stripped-down record "Acoustic Verses" in 2006. What followed in the same year is perhaps one of the most spectacular DVD recordings metal history. The band played a show in the mountains, under a 30-meter-high dam. Only a year later, GREEN CARNATION disbanded.

After the successful return in 2016, the band continued to play shows in 2017 and 2018. In September 2019, the progressive metal act announced that it was going to record its first album in 14 years at DUB Studio with producer Endre Kirkesola (ABBATH, IN VAIN, SOLEFALD), who also helmed "Light Of Day, Day Of Darkness".


Kjetil Nordhus - vocals
Tchort - guitars
Bjørn Harstad - guitars
Stein Roger Sordal - bass
Kenneth Silden - keys
Jonathan Alejandro Perez - drums

Photo: Petter Sandell


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).