GORGOROTH Completes Work On New Album

The new lineup of GORGOROTH has completed work on the band's ninth album, "Quantos Possunt ad Satanitatem Trahunt", due on October 21 in Europe and November 11 in the U.S. via Regain Records. The CD was recorded at Tomas Asklund's Monolith Studio and features Infernus on guitar, Frank Watkins (OBITUARY) on bass, Pest on vocals and Tomas Asklund on drums.

Since Infernus wrote all the music for the album and extensive rehearsals and a pre-production recording had also been completed before second guitarist Tormentor rejoined the band last year, it was decided that it would be more convenient for Infernus to record all the guitars on the LP.

"Quantos Possunt ad Satanitatem Trahunt" was produced by Infernus and co-produced/engineered by Tomas Asklund. It will be mastered at the Cutting Room in Stockholm later this month.

"Quantos Possunt ad Satanitatem Trahunt" tentative track listing:

01. Introibo ad Alatare Satanas
02. Aneuthanasia
03. Building a Man
04. Prayer
05. Rebirth
06. Cleansing Fire
07. New Breed
08. Human Sacrifice
09. Satan-Prometheus

Twilightheart of Sheol-Magazine.com and Zero Tolerance visited Norwegian black metallers GORGOROTH in Stockholm, Sweden late last month while they were recording "Quantos Possunt ad Satanitatem Trahunt". You can read her report, which includes a number of photos, at this location.

As previously reported, GORGOROTH recently spent time at Threeman Recordings in Stockholm with producer Nico Elgstrand (ENTOMBED). During the sessions, GORGOROTH frontman Pest replaced Gaahl's vocals for the "True Norwegian Black Metal - Live in Grieghallen" album, which was originally released in June 2008 via Regain Records. According to a posting on the group's web site, Infernus (guitar) "has already consulted legal representatives regarding this album, and is prepared to support Regain Records in the label's ongoing legal conflict with two of the band's ex-members, if any such support is needed."

Infernus recently won a court battle against vocalist Gaahl and bassist King ov Hell over the rights to the GORGOROTH band name. According to a posting on Infernus' MySpace page, "The court has decided that King ov Hell's trademark registration of the band name GORGOROTH is NOT valid and shall therefore be deleted. The court states that King ov Hell and Gaahl excluded themselves from the band GORGOROTH when they tried to fire Infernus in October 2007. The court further states that Infernus cannot be excluded from GORGOROTH, unless he himself decides to quit."

Infernus filed a lawsuit against King ov Hell in September 2008 claiming that King (the sixth bass player in GORGOROTH's history) went behind his back in September 2007 and secretly applied for trademark protection of the GORGOROTH bandname and logo, which Infernus had been using since 1992.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).