GLENN HUGHES: Live CD/DVD Details Revealed

Former DEEP PURPLE/BLACK SABBATH singer Glenn Hughes will release a double audio CD and a single-disc DVD, entitled "Soulfully Live In The City Of Angels", on September 20 through Frontiers Records (Marquee/Avalon in Japan and Hellion Records in Brazil).

"Soulfully Live In The City Of Angels" was shot live on January 11, 2004 before an audience of friends and selected regulars at

Those privileged enough to have graced the soiree in the intimate setting at Sound Image studio in North Hollywood, California witnessed the bassist/vocalist's current band of longtime guitarist JJ Marsh and keyboard player Ed Roth being swelled by none other than RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS drummer Chad Smith.

Helping out on backing vocals are former QUIET RIOT singer Kevin DuBrow and ex-SANTANA man Alex Ligertwood, with second guitarist George Nastos doubling up where appropriate.

The repertoire is balanced between latter-day choices like "Written All Over Your Face", "Higher Places (Song For Bonzo)", "Wherever You Go" and "Can’t Stop The Flood" and the trusted crowd-pleasers. This includes selections from TRAPEZE ("Seafull" and "Medusa"), HUGHES/THRALL ("First Step Of Love") and of course DEEP PURPLE ("Mistreated", "Getting' Tighter" and "You Keep On Movin'").

"I'm happy again and of course I love being up there on stage. You've got to see Glenn Hughes on the boards to really understand him," Hughes said in a press release. "I'm so excited that rock in general is coming again into a good head of steam and I also feel really good about where I am personally."

Final track listing of the double live CD is as follows:


01. Can't Stop the Flood
02. Higher Places
03. Written All Over Your Face
04. Medusa
05. Wherever You Go
06. Seafull


01. Coast to Coast
02. First Step Of Love
03. Mistreated
04. Gettin’ Tighter
05. You Keep On Moving
06. The Healer (bonus studio track)
07. Change (bonus European studio track)

The DVD has the same tracklisting and adds an insightful interview with Glenn Hughes plus a special picture gallery.

Both the CD and the DVD will come out in the first pressing with a limited and specially packaged cardboard edition.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).