GALLOWS To Release New Album In September

U.K.'s GALLOWS are finally ready to unleash the next phase of their punk rock attack on the world with the highly-anticipated release of their follow-up to 2009's "Grey Britain" album. Set for release in Europe on September 10 through the band's own label Venn Records (in partnership with [PIAS] Recordings) and in the U.S. on September 11 via Bridge Nine Records, the self-titled CD was recorded, produced, mixed and mastered by longtime friends Thomas Mitchener and Steve Sears at Broadfields Studio in Watford in May this year.

"We made this record self-titled as it musically defines the band known as GALLOWS as we exist today," explains the band. "This is the first of many releases to come from the house of Venn Records, our imprint, hijacked from [PIAS] those long-standing backers of independent rock 'n' roll."

The group adds, "This is our statement of intent, our laugh in the face of those who said GALLOWS were done when in reality we're just warming up. We couldn't feel more vindicated and proud."

"Gallows" track listing:

01. Victim Culture
02. Everybody Loves You (When You're Dead)
03. Last June
04. Outsider Art
05. Vapid Adolescent Blues
06. Austere
07. Depravers
08. Odessa
09. Nations
- Never Enough -
10. Cult Of Mary
11. Cross Of Lorraine

A free download of the track "Last June" is now available from

The band will embark on a U.K. tour in October.

GALLOWS is a band that needs little introduction. Described, variously, as "the best British punk band since THE CLASH" and "the British music industry's biggest mistake," the Hertfordshire hardcore crew first emerged from the fecund U.K. underground punk scene in 2005. Inspired by REFUSED, AT THE DRIVE-IN, JR Ewing and Swing Kids, their ferocious, feral 2006 debut, "Orchestra Of Wolves", offered a harsh, unflinching dissection of suffocating suburban mores, shot through with images of small-town violence, desperation and disgust. Its follow-up, 2009's apocalyptic "Grey Britain", was darker, denser and even more brutally incisive, a lacerating, none-more-bleak state of the nation address, speaking of a once-proud nation on its knees, riven by prejudice, greed, ignorance and fear. December 2011's "Death Is Birth" EP heralded the arrival of a new GALLOWS: united, uncompromised, unfettered, unbroken. With old friend (and former ALEXISONFIRE guitarist) Wade MacNeil installed as the band's new frontman, the seven-inch EP was a defiant declaration of independence, 459 seconds of apoplectic punk rock fury landing like an adrenaline spike to the heart.


Wade MacNeil (vocals)
Lee Barratt (drums)
Stephen Carter (guitar)
Laurent Barnard (guitar)
Stuart Gili-Ross (bass)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).