Former THE 3RD AND THE MORTAL Singer KARI RUESLÅTTEN To Release 'Time To Tell' Album

Kari Rueslåtten, founding member of the progressive doom metal band THE 3RD AND THE MORTAL, has set a March 7, 2014 release date for "Time To Tell", her fifth solo album, and first in eight years, via Despotz Records.

"The composing has been done by me sitting at the piano singing," commented Rueslåtten.

"No drum beats or co-composers this time!

"I wanted to go back to the core of songwriting. If the verse and chorus works just accompanied by the piano, it will work with other arrangements in studio too.

"What really triggered me to start making music again were all the kind messages I got from fans around the world asking me when new music would surface.

"I am most humble and grateful to find that there are people out there who have followed my music since my early beginning, back in THE 3RD AND THE MORTAL days, and through all my solo albums."

"Time To Tell" was recorded and produced at Øra Studio in Trondheim, Norway with Norwegian award-winning producer Jostein Ansnes. The 11-track, all-acoustic album features guest musicians Jostein Ansnes (guitar), Rune Arnesen (drums), Trygve Brøske (piano and pump organ) and Eirik Øien (upright bass).

To whet the appetite of fans around the globe, Rueslåtten launched a music video for the album's first single "Why So Lonely". "Why So Lonely" originally appeared on the 1994 THE 3RD AND THE MORTAL album "Tears Laid In Earth", and has been rearranged by Rueslåtten with the help of Tuomas Holopainen (NIGHTWISH) on piano and keys, Jostein Ansnes on guitar and Rune Arnesen on drums.

"I decided to look back in time and make a cover version of one of my favorite songs from the early years with THE 3RD AND THE MORTAL," added Rueslåtten. "In a way, it can be seen as a tribute to those who have showed interest in my music through so many years."

"Time To Tell" track listing:

01. Time To Tell
02. Hide Underneath Bridges
03. Hold On
04. Paint The Rainbow Grey
05. Rainy Days Ahead
06. Why So Lonely
07. Shoreline
08. Waltz Across The Sky
09. Wintersong
10. Stay Right Here
11. Only You Know

Rueslåtten's natural talent, combined with classical training and roots in the Norwegian folk music tradition, has resulted in a voice that is difficult to describe. Her music has been compared with artists like Tori Amos, Kate Bush and Bjørk, maybe not necessarily because the music sounds very similar, but because of each artists' distinctive vocal delivery.



To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).