Former STRATOVARIUS Singer TIMO KOTIPELTO: 'Coldness' Details Revealed

Former STRATOVARIUS vocalist Timo Kotipelto has finalized the track listing for his second solo album, "Coldness", due this spring through Century Media Records.

Joining Timo during the recording sessions for the follow-up to 2002's "Waiting For The Dawn" (which was issued under the KOTIPELTO banner) were the following world-class musicians:

Janne Wirman (CHILDREN OF BODOM - keyboards)
Jari Kainulainen (STRATOVARIUS - bass)
Mike Romeo (SYMPHONY X - guitars)
Juhani Malmberg (TUNNELVISION - guitars)

"Coldness" track listing:

01. Seeds Of Sorrow
02. Reasons
03. Around
04. Can You Hear The Sound
05. Snowbound
06. Journey Back
07. Evening's Fall
08. Coldness Of My Mind
09. Take Me Away
10. Here We Are

The recording sessions for "Coldness" were completed this fall/winter under the production guidance of Kotipelto. Mikko Karmila mixed the effort at Finnvox studios in Helsinki. The album's first single/video, "Reasons", will precede the full-length CD sometime this spring.

Saying that he doesn't like the term "solo album" because "I'm not playing any fucking solos — it's just album of heavy metal!" Kotipelto added: " 'Coldness' sounds more modern compared to my first album. Of course, you can hear my early influences (IRON MAIDEN, BLACK SABBATH, QUEENSRŸCHE) here and there, but I still absolutely think it sounds like my album.

"Musically, it's again traditional heavy metal — not power metal or something like that. I also sing slightly differently compared to the way I did on the STRATOVARIUS albums. On my new album, my voice doesn't reach falsetto [levels]."

Regarding the lyrics on the CD, Kotipelto said, "It was always my dream to release a concept album... I couldn't do that with STRATOVARIUS, so I fulfilled that dream with my first album, 'Waiting For The Dawn'. As some of you might know, it was the album about the Egyptian culture and so on. But the new lyrics on 'Coldness' are very far away from the 'warmness' of Egypt. I would say that new album's feeling is absolutely 'freezing' and it reflects my not-so-warm feelings from the past months and weeks."

"Of course, the cover art of the 'Coldness' and the pages of the CD booklet are all connected to the album title. The cover is 'freezing' and there is snow and things like that. Not such a typical heavy metal album cover — there are no swords, fire or things like that."

(Thanks: Timo Isoaho / Sonera Plaza Kaista)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).