Former FOREIGNER Singer To Release THE LOU GRAMM BAND Debut

Frontiers Records has set a June 5 European release date for European release of THE LOU GRAMM BAND's self-titled album.

Powerhouse vocalist and songwriter Lou Gramm can be heard each and every day, all over the world, on radio, iPods, CD players, television commercials, music videos, and of course... jukeboxes. Gramm — the former lead vocalist and co-writer of the multi-platinum band FOREIGNER — has become the voice of a generation. Among the most distinctive and powerful voices to emerge from rock and Top 40 radio, Lou Gramm is also a successful solo artist in his own right and remains one of the most recognizable performers in music today.

Lou Gramm, the vocalist on 20 Top 40 singles, which continue to drive sales of nearly 80 million albums worldwide, exploded onto the international music scene with FOREIGNER on the chart-topper "Feels Like The First Time" in 1977. The stats are impressive: eight Top 5 singles on the Billboard Hot 100 chart and five Top 5 albums on the Billboard album chart in the U.S. alone plus a solid history of chart entries in several European territories and Japan.

Now, nearly three decades after the debut of FOREIGNER and chart-topping success as a solo artist, Lou Gramm returns with "The Lou Gramm Band", a powerful new CD featuring his own unique brand of rock 'n' roll.

"The feeling is wonderful and liberating, to be able to once again record an album of songs that I really care about, with my brothers and my friends making up the band," says Lou. The band is formed by Gramm's brothers Ben and Richard on drums and bass, respectively, with Andy Knoll on keyboards and Don Mancuso on guitars.

"I've always tried to be down to earth lyrically and write songs through experience and with emotion," continues Lou. "Musically, I am really fortunate enough to have creative and expressive musicians around me. When I hear a guitar or keyboard riff from my brother Richard, Don or Andy, a story begins to form lyrically and melodically and the band and I work these ideas. Sometimes very painstakingly, until we have the bare bones of something that we can be proud of."

"The Lou Gramm Band" track listing:

01. Baptized By Fire
02. Made To Be Broken
03. Willing To Forgive
04. That's The Way God Planned It
05. (I Just Wanna) Testify
06. So Great
07. Redeemer
08. Single Vision
09. Rattle Yer Bones
10. You Saved Me
11. It's Not Too Late (bonus track for Europe)

Check out audio samples at this location.

Whether they are rocking out on classics like "Hot Blooded" or "Jukebox Hero", rolling out a new extended groove on Gramm's massive solo hit "Midnight Blue", or bringing to life "So Great" and "Baptized By Fire" from their new self-titled CD, Lou and his band have been pleasing enthusiastic audiences with a show that captures the essence of Gramm's talent.

"We would love to tour Europe and the rest of the world playing both new songs and select songs from my thirty-year career," says Lou.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).