Former CARCASS Frontman JEFF WALKER: Solo Album Delayed

Fractured Transmitter Records has pushed back the projected release date of the solo album from former CARCASS bassist/vocalist Jeff Walker, entitled "Welcome to Carcass Cuntry", to May 9 from the previously announced March 14. No reason was given for the delay.

The CD, which consists exclusively of country and blues covers, will include tracks from such artists as SKEETER DAVIS, HANK WILLIAMS, JOHNNY CASH, CONNIE SMITH, and JOHN DENVER — albeit with a metallic spin.

"Welcome to Carcass Cuntry" track listing:

01. The Man Comes Around
02. I Cant Help It If I'm Still In Love With You
03. You're Still On My Mind
04. Sunday Morning Coming Down
05. Mississippi
06. I Just Dropped In To See What Condition My Condition Was In
07. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
08. Once A Day
09. The End Of The World
10. Rocky Mountain High
11. Keep On Rocking In The Free World

A full-length MP3 of the song "You're Still on My Mind" has been made available download at this location.

As previously reported, Walker has tapped Larry Welz from Cherry Comics to create the original art for Walker's upcoming solo album consisting exclusively of country and blues covers. Check out Larry's work at

"What I'm doing is kinda left of center to some extent," Walker told Decibel magazine about the upcoming CD. "It's really not that original of an idea when you consider that [SOCIAL DISTORTION frontman] Mike Ness has already done a country-hybrid album. But I don't think anyone from a background like mine has done it, and done it with a bit of respect — not turning it into a piss take."

"Welcome to Carcass Cuntry" will include contributions from H.I.M. drummer Gas, H.I.M. frontman Ville Valo (bass/backing vocals), former CARCASS guitarist/FIREBIRD frontman Bill Steer (lead guitar, harmonica, slide guitar, vocals), AMORPHIS guitarists Esa Holopainen and Tomi Koivusaari (guitars), keyboardist Santeri Kallio (keyboards) and bassist Niclas Etelävuori (bass), ex-FAITH NO MORE bassist Billy Gould, and former CARCASS drummer Ken Owen.

"I like the irony of me doing a solo album and being the most untalented person on the album," Walker joked. "I could play the instruments half-assed, but I think it's better to recognize your own failings and get someone else in who could do it better."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).