Former BLACK STAR RIDERS Guitarist DAMON JOHNSON: 'Shivering Shivering' Music Video

Former BLACK STAR RIDERS Guitarist DAMON JOHNSON: 'Shivering Shivering' Music Video

"Memoirs Of An Uprising", the new album from singer/songwriter/guitarist Damon Johnson, will be released on March 8 via Double Dragon Records.

The official Chris Hopkins-directed music video for the debut single, "Shivering Shivering", can be seen below.

"This song started with a great set of lyrics from my longtime friend and musical brother, Jim (Johnny Blade) Troglen," Damon says. "It really set the foundation for the other new songs that were soon to follow. There was a focus during this writing process unlike any I can recall from my past, and the diversity in dynamics and quality of the storytelling reflect that."

After incredible runs with the bands he co-founded, BLACK STAR RIDERS and '90's chart-toppers BROTHER CANE, Damon Johnson found himself in spring of 2018 in a surprising position. Johnson had just completed a coast-to-coast tour with BLACK STAR RIDERS supporting JUDAS PRIEST, as well as select reunion performances with THIN LIZZY, when he realized there were two things he couldn't stop thinking about: his family and his music. Would 2019 finally be the year Johnson gives full focus to the music he kept hearing in his mind, composing an album, a true collection of songs that represented his personal vision, plus have the final say about his tour calendar? The answer was a resounding yes.

Johnson explains: "After that PRIEST tour, I was feeling anxious about some things: getting older, where my career would be in 10 years, how much time I was continually spending (mostly in foreign countries) away from my wife and our two youngest kids... plus I was sitting on a near completed solo album of the most honest music I've ever made. Ignoring some hard truths could not be a part of my deal anymore." So Johnson made the decision to part ways with BLACK STAR RIDERS, finish his album, and start over… this time completely on his own name.

The resulting album, "Memoirs Of An Uprising", is a collection that is both fierce and diverse — a powerful springboard for the musician to start his next chapter. Collaborating with his longtime friend and songwriter Jim "Johnny Blade" Troglen, Johnson began assembling a group of songs in divergent tempos and grooves that appealed to his musical side and then laced them with lyrical themes of betrayal and revenge.

"The first two songs we put together were 'Shivering Shivering' and 'Dallas Coulda Been A Beatdown' and I knew we were off to a great start," Johnson says.

Throughout "Memoirs Of An Uprising", there are musical events that are strictly meant to get bodies moving, like "Dallas…" and "Making Peace With This Wicked Beast". There are some truly challenged literary actors in "We Got A System" and "The World Keeps Spinning Round". When it is suggested that this could be a concept album, Johnson says: "As much as I'd prefer to steer clear of that label, there is no denying these 10 songs can be consumed in one listen and feel like a complete story."

"Memoirs Of An Uprising" track listing:

01. Shivering Shivering
02. Dallas Coulda Been A Beatdown
03. Down On Me
04. We Got A System
05. Call It A Trade
06. Rage With Me
07. So Brutal
08. The World Keeps Spinning Round
09. Making Peace With This Wicked Beast
10. Glorious

Photography by Stephen Jensen for F3 Studios


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).