FAITH NO MORE's RODDY BOTTUM Teams Up With 81-Year-Old Vocalist In Art-Doom Collective NASTIE BAND

FAITH NO MORE's RODDY BOTTUM Teams Up With 81-Year-Old Vocalist In Art-Doom Collective NASTIE BAND

Sleeping Giant Glossolalia has set a July 26 release date for the self-titled debut album by NASTIE BAND.

With leather, chains, macabre makeup, and a cast of characters including an 81-year-old vocalist, shirtless twin brothers, and iconic keyboard player Roddy Bottum (FAITH NO MORE, IMPERIAL TEEN), NASTIE BAND is one of New York City's most thrilling new spectacles.

The sound: spine-chilling dirges, for fans of the creepiest depths of SUNN O))) or TODAY IS THE DAY's early work. The album opens and closes with songs featuring octogenarian Chris Kachulis's croon — a damaged, pining voice, in the spirit of the late Scott Walker. Fans of early electronic music know Kachulis as a collaborator of Bruce Haack; he sang on Haack's 1970 album "The Electric Lucifer", among other things.

"I've often stopped and wondered why I appeal to men / Men cluster to me like moths around a flame / And if their wings get burned I am not to blame," he intones maniacally on NASTIE BAND's first track.

Over seven songs, the band descends deep into dungeon atmospherics and minimalist metal, punctuated by Bottum's icy, signature synths. From the hypnotic throb of "Shapeshift" to the battle march of "Circle Of Knives" to the dance-terror of "Relapse", NASTIE BAND's art-doom crackles with the type of danger, darkness, and drama that once defined New York City.

Masterminded by Sandy Smiles — the alter ego of visual artist Frank Haines, whose body of work includes film, stained glass, performance art, and more — NASTIE BAND's lineup has morphed since its inception and still might change from show to show. Appearing on the album are Haines, Kachulis, Bottum, guitarist Patrick Delaney (ex-VILLAINS, POLLUTION), twin brothers David and Tradd Sanderson (ex-CREAM ABDUL BABAR), drummer Elsner Nino (ex-MERCHANDISE, POLLUTION), artist Reuben Lorch-Miller, and vocalist Inyang Bassey (MOBY). Since the time of the recording, drummer Hisham Bharoocha (BLACK DICE, SOFT CIRCLE) has taken over the drum throne from Nino.

"Nastie Band" was recorded at Seizures Palace in Brooklyn by Jason LaFarge (SWANS, DEVENDRA BANHART, OPENING BELL) and mastered by James Plotkin (MERZBOW, SUNN O))), GNAW).

First single, "Shapeshift", will be released June 14 on cassette as a maxi-single containing ten remix versions of the song, by members of NASTIE BAND, DÄLEK, OPENING BELL and ORNAMENT.

"Shapeshift RMXXXD" maxi-single track listing:

01. Shapeshift - original album version
02. Shapeshift - Castrati remix
03. Shapeshift - DSwarm remix
04. Shapeshift - Decimation Blvd remix
05. Shapeshift - Ornament remix
06. Shapeshift - M.A.L. remix
07. Shapeshift - PFV remix
08. Shapeshift - Sandy Smiles remix
09. Shapeshift - Ancient Remains remix
10. Shapeshift - Opening Bell remix
11. Shapeshift - Activated Corpse remix

"Nastie Band" album track listing:

01. Falling In Love
02. Shapeshift
03. Lucifer's Grotto
04. Circle Of Knives
05. The Widening
06. Relapse
07. A Summer With A Thousand Julys

NASTIE BAND will play an official "Shapeshift RMXXXD" release show on June 13 at Brooklyn Bazaar in New York.

Cover art and photos by Jonathan Grassi


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).