Ex-W.A.S.P. Guitarist Admits WHERE ANGELS SUFFER Debut Contains Previously Released Recordings

Former W.A.S.P. guitarist Randy Piper has responded to accusations that the debut album from his new band, WHERE ANGELS SUFFER (W.A.S.), consists entirely of previously released recordings from his earlier group, RANDY PIPER'S ANIMAL.

In a statement released to BLABBERMOUTH.NET earlier today by former RANDY PIPER'S ANIMAL guitarist Chris Laney (real name: Ulf Larsson), the Swedish songwriter/producer/artist said that the material that he co-wrote and produced on the first two RANDY PIPER'S ANIMAL albums — 2006's "Violent New Breed" and 2008's "Virus" — is being re-released on WHERE ANGELS SUFFER's debut CD, "Purgatory", "without being re-recorded or remixed." Laney added that he "owns the mastertape and copyrights on 'Violent New Breed' and 'Virus'" and that the "Swedish record label who released 'Violent New Breed' and 'Virus' owns the license rights on those two albums." He concluded by saying that he "deeply hopes the songlist and songsamples for 'Purgatory'" that were provided on the Amazon.com web site "is a giant misunderstanding."

After Laney's comments were published on BLABBERMOUTH.NET, Piper released the following statement in an attempt to clarify the situation:

"Look before you leap, peeps. Credits on both albums read as follows: songs are written by Chris Laney, Randy Piper and Rich Lewis.

"Rich Lewis and I felt the fans deserved to hear these great tunes here in the USA.

"Chris Laney is a great songwriter and we hope to collaborate with him on another project in the future."

"The WHERE ANGELS SUFFER 'Purgatory' CD is a preliminary album to our new lineup of band members. We are working feverishly on our new songs. In fact, we are gathered together here in Florida as we speak.

"A lot of our fans have never heard 'Violent New Breed' and 'Virus' by RANDY PIPER'S ANIMAL, released on Locomotive Records, so we decided to release it now.

"We will be performing some of the songs from the 'Purgatory' album live in concert on our current tour.

"Locomotive Records closed their doors soon after they launched the record in the European market. Subsequently the record was not released in the USA."

WHERE ANGELS SUFFER (W.A.S.) features Chris Holmes (guitar; ex-W.A.S.P.), Randy Piper (guitar; ANIMAL, ex-W.A.S.P.), Steve Unger (bass; ex-METAL CHURCH), Rich Lewis (vocals; ANIMAL) and Stet Howland (drums; ex-W.A.S.P.).

"Purgatory" track listing:

01. Cardiac Arrest
02. Can't Stop
03. Don't Wanna Die
04. Crying Eagle
05. Unnatural High
06. Judgment Day
07. Zombie (CRANBERRIES cover)
08. Lust
09. Violent New Breed
10. Morning After
11. Eye of the Storm
12. Boom


Oct. 30 - The Viper Room - West Hollywood, CA
Nov. 04 - Clifton, NJ - Dingbatz
Nov. 05 - Patchogue, NY - Karma
Nov. 06 - West Springfield, VA - Jaxx
Nov. 07 - Greensboro, NC - Arizona Pete's
Nov. 12 - Fairfield, OH - Charlie's
Nov. 13 - Imperial, PA - Grim's Roadhouse
Jan. 07 - Seattle, WA - The King Cat Theater
Jan. 08 - Portland, OR - Roseland Theater

* "Virus" (RANDY PIPER'S ANIMAL) audio samples
* "Violent New Breed" (RANDY PIPER'S ANIMAL) audio samples
* "Purgatory" (W.A.S.) audio samples


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).