Ex-MEGADETH Guitarist JEFF YOUNG: First-Ever Solo Album Due Next Week

As lead guitarist for MEGADETH in the '80s and Brazil's Badi Assad in the '90s, Jeff Young toured the world and immersed himself in the observation and study of diverse musical cultures.

On his first-ever solo release, which will go on sale at CDBaby.com next week, he serves up a global enchilada of gypsy flamenco, Brazilian jazz, Afro, Arabic, reggae, rock and classical. The project is mixed by Michael Wagener (METALLICA, JANET JACKSON, QUEEN, KING'S X, SKID ROW) and features vocalists Debby Holiday (ROD STEWART, JOHN WAITE), Gregg Analla, Sage Sansone, Badi Assad, Lenine, Gilli Moon and Twinkle. Musical contributions from Matt Chamberlain (DAVID BOWIE, TORI AMOS, FIONA APPLE), Tony Franklin (JIMMY PAGE, THE FIRM, BLUE MURDER) and classical guitarists Sergio & Odair Assad (DUO ASSAD, YO YO MA) reveal universal creativity performing in fresh, unexpected musical contexts.

Young transverses musical boundaries on his solo debut, "Equilibrium". Flowing from explosive to seductive, fiery to blissful — this music draws you in deeper and deeper with each listen...

"Equilibrium" track listing:

01. Always Remember Me (feat. Sage Sansone)
02. Eternal (feat. Gregg Analla)
03. Seasons Of Wither (feat. Twinkle)
04. City Of The Sun (feat. Debby Holiday, Badi Assad & Sage Sansone)
05. Taranta Por Drea
06. Liquid Voices (feat. Gilli Moon)
07. infin8 (feat. Gregg Analla)
08. Spirit Dog (feat. Badi Assad)
09. Entrelace (feat. Badi Assad & Lenine)
10. Solais (feat. Badi Assad & Sage Sansone)
11. Calling Jupiter (feat. Debby Holiday & Gilli Moon)

The first single from "Equilibrium" is a powerful-yet-tender remake of a song from AEROSMITH's 1974 "Get Your Wings" LP, entitled "Seasons of Wither". According to a posting on Young's MySpace page, "Jeff is joined on this stripped-down rendition by one of America's true organic voices, Twinkle Schascle. An interesting side note to this track is that Twinkle actually opened for AEROSMITH in Tampa, Florida — solo, no less!! Needless to say, she brought the arena crowd to its knees and made lifelong fans of Steven Tyler and Joe Perry."

Jeff Young is the lead guitarist on MEGADETH's platinum-selling classic "So Far, So Good…So What!" (1987, Capitol Records). His 1997 "acoustic-based" collaboration with Brazilian phenom Badi Assad, entitled "Chameleon" (Verve/PolyGram), climbed to number one in Europe, also topping JAZZIZ magazine's Readers' Poll for "Best Brazilian Albums of the Year." Jeff's association with the Assad family also spawned songwriting collaborations with guitar luminary Sergio Assad and two pieces on Badi's "Verde" album. Jeff is also a member of the YMT guitar trio along with Scott Morris and Steven Thachuk. During the summer and fall of 2009, the trio commenced their first series of concert dates in Florida; Bath, England; Los Angeles, Indiana and Ohio. As 2010 begins, YMT will record its first album, release a live DVD and continue performing around the globe.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).