ESSENCE OF SORROW Debut To Feature Guest Appearances By Ex-YNGWIE, SONATA ARCTICA Members

ESSENCE OF SORROW, the Finnish band led by DIVINEFIRE guitarist Jani Stefanovic, will release its debut album, "Reflections of the Obscure", on December 21 in Japan through King Records and on January 10 in Europe via Rivel Records. The band, initially a solo project, began to take shape during the spring of 2005 in Gothenburg, Sweden when Stefanovic started composing intricate music that expressed various feelings through strong melancholic melodies. As time passed, Jani began to expand his vision by transforming his solo project into a full-fledged band.

"Reflections of the Obscure" features a special guest appearance by Mats Levén (THERION, AT VANCE, YNGWIE MALMSTEEN) and ex-SONATA ARCTICA keyboardist Mikko Härkin, who has since joined the group as a permanent member.


Jani Stefanovic (DIVINEFIRE, MISERATION) - Guitar
Christian Palin (RANDOM EYES) - Vocals
Mikko Härkin (WINGDOM, ex-SONATA ARCTICA) - Keyboards
Timo Kuusjärvi (RANDOM EYES) - Guitar
Rolf Pilve (DREAMTALE) - Drums

Special guests:

Patrik Gardberg (AMMOTRACK)

"Reflections of the Obscure" track listing:

01. Face of Death
02. Mind Control
03. The Essence of Sorrow
04. Hollow
05. Supreme Oppression
06. Ashes
07. The Mirror
08. Trail of Tears
09. Come Serenity
10. Embraced (bonus track)

For audio samples, go to


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).