EROSION Feat. BAPTISTS, 3 INCHES OF BLOOD Members: 'Maximum Suffering' Album Due In October

EROSION Feat. BAPTISTS, 3 INCHES OF BLOOD Members: 'Maximum Suffering' Album Due In October

The world might have heard of EROSION a little sooner if the members weren't busy sharing duties in a handful of other projects. Guitarist Nick Yacyshyn, drummer Danny Marshall, and bassist Andrew Drury are more widely known for their work in Vancouver's beloved hardcore veterans BAPTISTS. Rick O'Dell was snagged from his bass duties with sludgy classic rockers TOBEATIC and punk rippers HARD FEELINGS to join EROSION on second guitar while vocalist Jamie Hooper was recruited for the vitriol he unleashed with the triumphant metal export 3 INCHES OF BLOOD and the grimy punk band CONGRESS. Given their pedigree, it's no small wonder that their debut full-length, "Maximum Suffering" exudes the kind of ugliness that only comes from artists steeped in the art of musical ferocity.

"Maximum Suffering" is EROSION's first release since 2013's "Kill Us All" cassette EP. Self-described as a "cathartic audio expulsion of our collective contempt for humanity," "Maximum Suffering" combines the reductionist brutalism of early grind outfits, the blazing tempos of classic d-beat hardcore, and the warped stomp-and-crush riffage of modern death metal's most nefarious troglodytes. On songs like "Human Error", the band takes the punishing lurch-and-mangle of classic powerviolence acts and ramps it up with adroit musicianship and meaty, blown-out tones.

Hydra Head Records will release "Maximum Suffering" on October 19.

The track listing for the album is as follows:

01. Maximum Suffering
02. Everything Is F***Ed
03. Need For Death
04. Human Error
05. Serpent Lust
06. The Crone
07. Deep In Hell
08. We Have Failed Us
09. Scorched Earth
10. Black Waves
11. Storm Of Steel
12. Dusted
13. Consumed

Photo credit: Taylor Ferguson


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).