ELIS: 'Catharsis' Release Dates Confirmed

Liechtenstein-based gothic metallers ELIS will release their new album, "Catharsis", via Napalm Records on the following dates:

Nov. 25 - Finland & Spain
Nov. 27 - Germany, Switzerland, Austria, Benelux & Italy
Nov. 30 - Rest of Europe
Dec. 15 - USA
Jan. 12 - Canada

The follow-up to 2006's "Griefshire", "Catharsis" was recorded at Mastersound Studio in Germany with producer Alex Krull (ATROCITY, LEAVES' EYES) and marks the band's first full-length recording with Sandra Schleret, who joined ELIS in December 2006.

"Catharsis" will be released with two different designs — jewel case and the digipack — both of which were created by Stefan "Heile" Heilemann and which can be viewed below.

"Catharsis" track listing:

01. Core Of Live
02. Twinkling Shadow
03. Warrior's Tale
04. Des Lebens Traum, des Traumes Leben
05. I Come Undone
06. Firefly
07. Morning Star
08. Das Kleine Ungeheuer
09. Mother's Fire
10. Rainbow
11. The Dark Bridge
12. Ghost Of The Past (bonus on digipack)
13. No Hero (bonus on digipack)

The digipack version of "Catharsis" will include a bonus DVD featuring a recording of the band's performance at the Metal Female Voices Fest in 2007 in Wieze, Belgium.

Bonus DVD track listing:

01. Intro
02. Tales From Heaven Or Hell
03. Die Zeit
04. Show Me The Way
05. Phoenix From The Ashes
06. Der Letzte Tag
07. Lost Soul
08. A New Decade
09. Heaven And Hell

Commented Sandra: "Sometime ago, shortly before I joined ELIS, I had to go through a very hard time, physical-wise the hardest experience in my life. I was fighting against a severe disease, and while my body was struggling, I felt my soul started to go its own way. I came to new insights, and started to develop a very intense strength like I never would have imagined I would be able to, but which was really essential for me at that time. I was taken out of the 'real life' for about half a year and felt like an onlooker, not participating in the real world. With the stories I tell on 'Catharsis', I am kind of digesting this period in my life, sharing my feelings, fears and also the things I saw as an 'outcast' watching the world. The word 'catharsis' has some different meanings, but for me it represents 'the healing of the soul by going through tragedy.' As I see it now, to see how magic life can be I also had to experience its dark side..."

ELIS released the "Show Me the Way" single on November 2, 2007 in Europe and November 6, 2007 in North America via Napalm Records. The single's title cut, which originally appeared on 2006's "Griefshire" album, features lead vocals by Schleret. Also included on the single are several previously unreleased songs from the "Griefshire" recording sessions.

ELIS' previous vocalist, Sabine Dünser, suffered a cerebral hemorrhage on July 7, 2006 during rehearsal and passed away the following day in hospital.

"Griefshire" was released in Europe on November 24, 2006 via Napalm Records (the U.S. received the album on January 16). The recordings for the CD were completed prior to the death of Dünser, who came up with the original concept for the album.

Jewel case:



Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).