EAGLES OF DEATH METAL's Jesse "Boots Electric" Hughes is tipping his hat to 13 of his favorite songs with his first covers album, titled "Eagles Of Death Metal Presents Boots Electric Performing The Best Songs We Never Wrote". Set for worldwide release on June 7 by UMe, the album is available now for preorder in digital, CD, 180-gram black vinyl LP, and limited edition 180-gram red-and-blue marble swirl vinyl LP formats.

Hughes has recorded and produced electrifying renditions of 13 songs he loves, joined by special guests for some tracks and flying solo for others. All but one song were recorded in California at Brunswick House Of Dangerous Thoughts, Valentine Studios, and Rancho De La Luna. The album was mixed and engineered at Valentine Studios by Nic Jodoin (who also co-produced six of the album's tracks with Hughes).

Hughes blasts off with KISS's "God Of Thunder", GUNS N' ROSES' "It's So Easy", AC/DC's "High Voltage" / "It's A Long Way To The Top (If You Wanna Rock 'N' Roll)", LOVE & ROCKETS' "So Alive" and the RAMONES' "Beat On The Brat". He lets the fire get higher on STEVE MILLER BAND's "Abracadabra" and delivers a breathtaking turn on George Michael's "Careless Whisper". Hughes's inspired cover of Mary J. Blige's "Family Affair" leads to two songs keeping it in the family: he gives love to his musical brother and EODM co-founder, Joshua "Baby Duck" Homme, and Josh's wife, Brody Dalle, with his versions of QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE's "Long Slow Goodbye" and THE DISTILLERS' "The Hunger". Bringing the album home, Hughes salutes KENNY ROGERS & THE FIRST EDITION's "Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Is In)", Cat Stevens's "Trouble" and David Bowie's "Moonage Daydream", which Hughes recorded in Third Man Records' Record Booth in Nashville while on tour.

Formed in 1998 in Palm Desert, California by best friends Jesse Hughes and Joshua Homme, EAGLES OF DEATH METAL (EODM) is not a death metal band. The story goes that a friend was introducing Homme to the death metal genre, and Homme wondered what a cross between THE EAGLES and a death metal band would sound like. With that, EODM was born. The band released "Peace Love Death Metal" in 2004, followed by "Death By Sexy" in 2006, "Heart On" in 2008, and "Zipper Down" in 2015.

"Eagles Of Death Metal Presents Boots Electric Performing The Best Songs We Never Wrote" track listing:

01. God Of Thunder (original by KISS)
02. It's So Easy (original by GUNS N' ROSES)
03. High Voltage / It's A Long Way To The Top (If You Wanna Rock 'N' Roll) (originals by AC/DC)
04. So Alive (original by LOVE & ROCKETS)
05. Beat On The Brat (original by the RAMONES)
06. Abracadabra (original by STEVE MILLER BAND)
07. Careless Whisper (original by George Michael)
08. Family Affair (original by Mary J. Blige)
09. The Hunger (original by THE DISTILLERS)
10. Long Slow Goodbye (original by QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE)
11. Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Is In) (original by KENNY ROGERS & THE FIRST EDITION)
12. Trouble (original by Cat Stevens)
13. Moonage Daydream (original by David Bowie)


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).