FRAMESHIFT, the "exciting" new progressive rock project written and produced by Henning Pauly of CHAIN for James LaBrie, vocalist of the legendary prog-metal band DREAM THEATER, will release their debut album, "Unweaving The Rainbow", in early November through Progrock Records.

"Composer Henning Pauly has worked in a wide variety of styles," reads an official press release. "Shortly before he started working on FRAMESHIFT he wrote a film score and suddenly it clicked. Modern film music combines elements from a lot of different styles. They are a mix of metal, ambient, techno, orchestral, rock, pop, loop based music. The way these elements come together in a film score lends itself perfectly to the genre of progressive rock so Henning decided to use this approach for FRAMESHIFT. He did not want to limit the music on this album to what is possible with a rock band lineup, but to what is possible with the tools a film composer has at his disposal. This didn't mean that he would forget about all the elements that make progressive rock what it is, he would simply take a slightly different approach to arranging it.

"Knowing that James LaBrie would be singing the whole album, he wanted to offer this outstanding vocalist an opportunity to sing in ways he has not performed before. James is a huge QUEEN fan and Henning frequently uses large vocal arrangements in his songs. The plan was simply: Leave a lot of space for vocals, make them the most important element on the album. So the songs were written with several a capella parts and even some counterpoint passages in the tradition of GENTLE GIANT and SPOCK'S BEARD, which both Henning and James are big fans of.

"The album features modern studio recording techniques, fused with lush orchestration and diverse instruments such as Warr Guitar and Chapman Stick."

The complete track listing for "Unweaving The Rainbow" is as follows (note: the vocals for the album are being recorded in late September, therefore these samples do not contain any singing yet):

01. Above The Grass - Part I
02. The Gene Machine (mp3)
03. Spiders
04. River Out Of Eden
05. Message From The Mountain (mp3)
06. Your Eyes
07. La Mer
08. Nice Guys Finish First
09. Arms Races (mp3)
10. Origins And Miracles
11. Off The Ground (mp3)
12. Walking Through Genetic Space
13. Cultural Genetics (mp3)
14. Bats
15. Above The Grass - Part II (mp3)

For more information, click here.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).