DREAM THEATER Drummer's BEATLES 'Cover Band' Comes To DVD

Neal Morse's (ex-SPOCK'S BEARD) web site has been updated with the following message:

"YELLOW MATTER CUSTARD (Mike Portnoy, Neal Morse, Paul Gilbert and Matt Bissonette) has been captured on DVD. Very cool. It's been Mike Portnoy's dream all his life to be in a BEATLES cover band. (Who would've ever figured that?) Finally it came true one night in New York City. Recorded live at New York's BB Kings Blues club May 18, 2003, YELLOW MATTER CUSTARD perform some well known BEATLES songs such as 'Nowhere Man' and 'Revolution', as well as more obscure tunes like 'I Call Your Name', 'Think For Yourself' and even a hilarious rendition of the 'Let it Be' b-side 'You Know My Name'. With the amazingly Lennon-like sounds of Neal Morse's voice, the incredible skill of Paul Gilbert (guitar, vocals) and Matt Bissonette (bass, vocals) this disc brings the fab-four alive in all its simplicity and complexity. Somehow they found samples of the actual orchestra tracks from 'Sgt. Peppers' and 'I Am The Walrus' bringing the psychedelic BEATLES era to life in stunning reality. Highlights include Paul Gilbert's extended guitar solo in 'While My Guitar Gently Weeps', Morse's gut grinding vocals on 'Oh Darlin', Bissonette's perfect bass playing in 'I Want You' and Mike Portnoy's Ringo-esque drumming will surely surprise many.

"The whole night has been brilliantly captured in a two-camera shot edited DVD. The quality is pretty decent especially considering the circumstances. Relive this classic evening again and again in all its fun and excitement."

Special added Features:

Rehearsal Footage
Audio Commentary with Mike and Howard Portnoy

Track listing:

Disc 1:

01. Intro
02. Magical Mystery Tour
03. Deer Prudence
04. Dig A Pony
05. She Said She Said
06. I Call Your Name
07. You Can't Do That
08. When I Get Home
09. Nowhere Man
10. Rain
11. Free As A Bird
12. Come Together
13. I Am The Walrus
14. While My Guitar Gently Weeps

Disc 2:

01. Baby's In Black
02. I'll Be Back
03. No Reply
04. The Night Before
05. You're Gonna Lose That Girl
06. Ticket To Ride
07. Everybody's Got Something To Hide Except For Me And My Monkey
08. Oh Darling
09. Think For Yourself
10. Wait
11. Revolution
12. I Want You (She's So Heavy)
13. You Know My Name (Look Up The Number)
14. Lovely Rita
15. Good Morning Good Morning
16. Sgt. Pepper (Reprise)
17. A Day In The Life

The DVD will be available soon from RadiantRecords.com.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).